Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-13-2012, 01:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 49
canister filter as reactor? (chemical media)

I have a canister filter spare that i may aswel use for something. Going to connect a hydor external heater and for extra flow. What you guys think of using something like chemi pure elite and puragen within it?
__________________

__________________
NightHawk-33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 05:34 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,542
People w/ fowlr systems use canisters w/ everything you stated in media baskets. Long as you are ontop of the maintenance of your canister youll be fine, they just build up w/ gunk that can cause nitrate issues.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 12:08 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightHawk-33
I have a canister filter spare that i may aswel use for something. Going to connect a hydor external heater and for extra flow. What you guys think of using something like chemi pure elite and puragen within it?
If your tank is fine filtration wise now then your better off without it. Will only cause more maintenance and nutrient buildup.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 03:26 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schism

If your tank is fine filtration wise now then your better off without it. Will only cause more maintenance and nutrient buildup.
The tank is drilled for the canister but does not have the space for a sump. Would you use it or plug the holes? If so how would i utilise the hydor external heater? Just tryin to get things out of the display before i start...
__________________
NightHawk-33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 03:34 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightHawk-33

The tank is drilled for the canister but does not have the space for a sump. Would you use it or plug the holes? If so how would i utilise the hydor external heater? Just tryin to get things out of the display before i start...
What other filtration do you have?

But personally if i had a skimmer and live rock, i would plug it, unless you wanna do the extra maintenance. This would involve ditching the heater for an intank heater.

It just depends on what you want to do.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister, canister filter, chemi, chemical, filter, media, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.