Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-25-2010, 12:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Baytown TX
Posts: 16
canister filters and sump

I have 2 fluval canister filters rated at 70 gal per hour each.
I'm wanting to know if I can leave the suction line in the DT and the return in the sump then a separate pump with a return to the DT. BTW my tank is not drilled. I already have the canister filters so I'm trying to eliminate having to buy a HOB overflow box. My tank is 135 gallons.

Thanks for any help and/or guidance on this.
__________________

__________________
Skeeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 03:47 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I`m just thinking out loud but I`m thinking you`ll be better off with the HOB overflow. That way if one of your pumps should fail it wont pump alot of water from the DT into the sump.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 11:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Baytown TX
Posts: 16
Hey thanks for the reply.I'm looking at a CPR 800gph continous overflow box w/ aqulifter pump. Maybe someone can chime in with good or bad exp with this equipment. Maybe I can get some other ideas. Thanks in advance
__________________
Skeeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 04:09 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
you would be looking for trouble. the flow down is going to be a lot faster than the flow up. You could still use the fluval for polishing/carbon/denitrate/dephos...
__________________
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 05:53 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
your 2 pump outputs would have to be exactly the same including factoring for the head,i would keep the filters for carbon and the like.I would stay away from any overflow box that needs a primer pump this can cause a lot of problems,try the eshopps sython pipe overflow box or the very expensive lifereef one.I use the eshopps,there's a couple of pics in my profile.
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 06:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Baytown TX
Posts: 16
Maybe I need to do a little more research on the overflow.I thought the pump was only to make sure there were no air bubbles in the siphon.Thanks for all replies
__________________
Skeeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 03:02 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
its just something else which can fail,the eshopps doesn't need any pump,the one I use is the 800gph and the flowrate down to your sump is governed only by your return pump,that way if your pump fails the flow will stop but the overflow box is still airtight so once the pump restarts the flow starts again.I would highly reccommend this,its the same as the lifereef one at a fraction of the cost.
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 03:22 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
Overflow boxes in general are a huge PITA. You can get them setup and they will work fine forever, then one day you come home and they are just stopped for some unknown reason.

Is it a glass or acrylic tank?
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 07:12 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Baytown TX
Posts: 16
It is glass.Sides are not tempered bottom is.
__________________
Skeeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 10:05 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
poop. I was going to say I know people drain 12-18" of water out of their tank and drill the back real quick. Mostly with acrylic, but i've heard of some glass people doing it. Not sure if they had tempered or not, but I imagine that has a large part to do with it.
__________________

__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canister, canister filter, canister filters, filter, filters, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Canister filters zenkatydid General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 05-14-2008 04:57 PM
Canister Filters greyboysix Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 01-26-2008 08:34 PM
Canister Filters? lmw80 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 05-30-2004 01:09 AM
Canister filters and Sump nguyen27 DIY Projects 2 01-03-2004 09:21 AM
Canister Filters puffergirl General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 20 12-12-2003 08:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.