Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 01-26-2005, 06:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Coral springs
Posts: 96
Can't get ammonia down

Hi all, have changed over form hang on filters to a wet and dry with sump and over flow about two months ago, nitrites are 0 but can't seem to get ammonia down under .25
I started to see allot of fish waste on the bottom of the tank sinse the switch ,I got rid of the one power head because the return line was running on a 1600 gph pump so I figured thats allot more then the 300 power head
I added one of the hang ons back on thinking maybe only the top of the tank is being filtered and not the bottom, I even dediced for better flow to add two 600 gph power heads on each side of the ower tank for circlation, no more fish waste pill up but its been about a week, ammonia still around .25, nitrites stay at 0 though
I don't over feed, in fact I have all tangs and 1 squirel fish ,I give them either dry algea or some flake once a day, never any left over
Just can't figure this out, starting to think I made a mistake switching from the hang ons to a wet and dry

Mercury64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 06:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 147
Which test kit are you using? You may be seeing a false reading.

I find that anything below .5 can be unreliable - if in doubt buy an alternate brand kit, or take a sample to your LFS for a test.

hth -


Nate C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 07:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
Your profile says that you have lots of LR. That should be providing basic bio-filtration regardless of the performance of your new wet/dry.

If the tests are correct...., then you simply have to wait. If the tests are correct, then you're going through a mini-cycle. The bacteria will eventually catch up.

Unless you're adding ammonia to the tank somehow, it will eventually be removed by bacteria.
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote


Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia Blackadder Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 05-23-2006 10:03 AM
ammonia in QT dax29 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 3 03-29-2005 10:44 AM
Found Ammonia for you fishless ammonia cyclers at Ace TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 03-22-2005 04:06 PM
cant get ammonia down Dayna Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 04-13-2004 10:56 PM
ammonia krap101 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 03-09-2004 05:38 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.