Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-06-2011, 01:42 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JOMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MARYLAND
Posts: 1,164
cant keep ammonia levels up

bet you were shocked when you saw that title^, werent you? haha

but seriously, i will add about 3cc's of ammonia (which i thought was a lot) and five minutes later i will only test about .5-1ppm ammonia. my nitrites are staying a steady 1ppm and my nitrates are really high, close to 80 (im cycling fishless so dont freak out)

do i have to keep the ammonia up in order for the nitrite bacteria to grow?

thanks,
joma
(ps i started my cycle about 5 days ago)
(pss i have a 2 gallon hexagon with an aquateach100gph , 3-3.5lbs of live rock and about 4 pounds of fossilized coral.)
__________________

__________________
Brought to you by Joey's brain.
__________________
Hakuna matata.
JOMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 02:48 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Purevil21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,863
Couldn't tell you about using pure ammonia, I would just toss a raw shrimp in there and be done with it. lol When the levels come back safe your cycled.
__________________

__________________
It's been real AA.
Purevil21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 03:36 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
isn't your cycle usually done once you start to see nitrates?
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 04:12 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Purevil21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,863
I never saw nitrates in my tank until I added fish. Even now they are somewhere between 0-5ppm. I saw Ammonia peak at about 3ppm then Nitrite that got up to about 1.5ppm then all clear. I cycled with a ton of cured liverock though, maybe other methods yield different results.
__________________
It's been real AA.
Purevil21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 10:07 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 988
Gti_Leo, it's not that simple. The goal is for the bacteria to be able to process and certain amount (usually like 4 ppm) of ammonia, into nitrite then nitrates within 24 hours. If you're still seeing high levels of nitrite within 24 hours then it's not ready.
__________________
jenatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 01:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JOMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MARYLAND
Posts: 1,164
so once i see no ammonia and nitrite after 24 hours i can add fish?
__________________
Brought to you by Joey's brain.
__________________
Hakuna matata.
JOMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 01:55 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JOMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MARYLAND
Posts: 1,164
should i wait until the nitrites to go down before i add more ammonia? or should i keep adding ammonia until the nitrites go down?
__________________
Brought to you by Joey's brain.
__________________
Hakuna matata.
JOMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 01:59 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
ammonia gets turned into nitrite then into nitrate, i think your only supposed to add it once a day. i've never heard of the cycling method your using, only the raw shrimp one
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 02:00 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JOMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MARYLAND
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gti_Leo View Post
ammonia gets turned into nitrite then into nitrate, i think your only supposed to add it once a day. i've never heard of the cycling method your using, only the raw shrimp one
im just using pure ammonia, its what i had so its what i use
__________________
Brought to you by Joey's brain.
__________________
Hakuna matata.
JOMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 05:19 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 988
Yep, I think you're safe if the ammonia and nitrItes are both processed within 24 hours.
Your second question I'm not exactly sure. I think weeks 3-6 in Fishless Cycling For Dummies should answer your question.
__________________

__________________
jenatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia Levels catywamp Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 01-14-2009 07:01 PM
Ammonia levels m3drver Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 03-07-2008 10:37 AM
Ammonia levels SilverDragon Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 06-13-2006 05:30 PM
Ammonia levels SCFatz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 05-31-2006 10:22 PM
Ammonia levels iuman1979 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 10-21-2004 09:44 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.