Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-16-2011, 09:52 PM   #121
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
no i don't have enough of a surface area to be able to run one effectively, but they do help suck out alot of nitrates from the water
__________________

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 09:58 PM   #122
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I'm hoping i can continue my 0 nitrates in the new tank too. I onlyh ave an inch and a half or so in the 55g and my water parameters have been excellent.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 10:21 PM   #123
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
thats always a good thing, but i'd recommend a DSB, i plan on having one when i go with a large reef system.

you'll prob be able to stock a little more and keep everythign happy, as well you can do less waterchanges and just dose with essencial trace elements
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 04:10 AM   #124
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kurtyboh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 1,413
Send a message via MSN to kurtyboh Send a message via Skype™ to kurtyboh
Lots of people have good results with a dsb in refigium
__________________
kurtyboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 04:41 AM   #125
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jason7894561230's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Wollongong, Australia
Posts: 3,335
That looks amazing Carey!
__________________
If you ever need help just message me
Have you given Any Thanks lately? If not, do so!

Jason's Profile Page
Jason7894561230 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 06:35 AM   #126
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
her sump/fuge is to small for a DSB
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 08:26 AM   #127
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
kenny69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 292
Excuse my ignorance but what's a DSB?
__________________
I come from the land down under.....
kenny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 09:18 AM   #128
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kurtyboh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 1,413
Send a message via MSN to kurtyboh Send a message via Skype™ to kurtyboh
Deep sand bed
__________________
kurtyboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 10:22 AM   #129
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
So how much sand would a dsb require in my DT? I just used a sandbed calculator app on my phone and it says 259lb for a 4 inch sandbed. Seems like a lot of sand. I was just gonna go with the 150lbs which I would guess would give me about 2". Is playsand (silicate free) and pool sand the same basically?

I was looking at cheap overflow boxes and found the two below. I'm not sure if I want a single or dual overflow, I'm guessing it depends on the sump or wet/dry?

Filtration - Overflow

Filtration - Overflow

I figure how bad could these be for the price? LOL I also like these as well, little more $$ but name brand.

Eshopps PF800 Overflow Box, 125 gal tank, Single - AquaCave
Eshopps PF1000 Overflow Box, 150 gal tank, Dual - AquaCave

Is it better to have a dual overflow or is it more hassle? I was figuring on 800gph using a 1000gph return pump to compensate for the head.

Am I even in the right ballpark on this?

Thanks D
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 10:22 AM   #130
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kurtyboh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 1,413
Send a message via MSN to kurtyboh Send a message via Skype™ to kurtyboh
Gti ive never seen anything referring to amin size for a dsb. The help control nitrates it may not be big enough to bring it to zero but imo everything you can do to control will be beneficial
__________________

__________________
kurtyboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1.5g, build, reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carey's Bio Cube Build carey Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1892 01-22-2012 12:14 AM
Carey's 125G Upgrade/Conversion Thread carey Cichlid Discussion 315 05-04-2011 02:51 PM
Carey's QT to Regular Tank Build carey Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 03-17-2011 02:43 PM
My 125g Stand Build Daimyo68 Show Off/Photography 26 10-14-2009 06:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.