Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-06-2011, 07:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 349
chaeto placement and nitrates?

Hi all,

I'm trying to get my 125g in order; My nitrates are sitting between 40ppm and 60ppm

I bought some chaeto stuffed into a bottle I have laying around with a thousand holes poked into it.

Its been 3 days now and my nitrates haven't seem to go down; am I doing something wrong?

Also for long term, where can I put this stuff? I have a sump with bio balls and a protein skimmer in the other side taking up most of the sump. Should I get another sump or wet/dry filter or even an old 20 gallon fish tank and put the chaeto in that with a return pump up into the main tank?

How much do I have to worry about the chaeto growing or trying to grow into my pump?

Thank you all.
__________________

__________________
ozorowsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 08:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 63
When was your last water change? I would put the cheto in the sump.
__________________

__________________
Kmurraylhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 08:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kmurraylhs View Post
When was your last water change? I would put the cheto in the sump.
I did a water change 3 days ago (Keep in mind my tank hasn't started yet; I have some live rock some base rock (about 150lbs total), some live sand, and some sand that someone gave me (about 120lbs total).

Where in my sump would I put the chaeto? I don't want it to wrap its way around my protein skimmer/suck into my return pump.

Would I be ok to put it under the bio balls? Will it try to weasel and make a mess of the bio ball area?
__________________
ozorowsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 08:27 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 63
Was the live rock added recently..that can cause a spike. Cheto is pretty easy to to remove. I would not put it under the bioballs because of a lack of light. You could keep it in the 20 gallon tank you mentioned earlier.
__________________
Kmurraylhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 08:52 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kmurraylhs View Post
Was the live rock added recently..that can cause a spike. Cheto is pretty easy to to remove. I would not put it under the bioballs because of a lack of light. You could keep it in the 20 gallon tank you mentioned earlier.
I added the live rock last weekend
__________________
ozorowsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 09:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 63
That is probably it.. I just added 50 lbs and had a spike too.
__________________
Kmurraylhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 10:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kmurraylhs View Post
That is probably it.. I just added 50 lbs and had a spike too.
id like to start adding fish soon but I don't think I can with nitrates being so high right? That's why I'm stressing about these nitrates so bad
__________________
ozorowsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 11:28 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 63
I did get that wrong I would do another water change if I got the same tests results. And yes I wouldn't add fish.
__________________
Kmurraylhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 11:49 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 717
Uhhh you have that backwards. Ammonia to nitrtite to nitrate. He doesn't need bacteria if he's showing high nitrates. The nitrate is the end result of the cycle, the waste. If the cheato isn't doing it, a large water change will. I'd do a water change. Wait a day, retest. If it's still high I'd do another water change.
__________________
Sergie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 12:53 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 349
Would you guys recommend a 50% water change? I hate to spend tons of money and time mixing water and don't even have a single fish in there yet
__________________

__________________
125 Gallon Reef Aquarium, Live Sand, 150lbs of Live Rock Chaeto in Refugium
ozorowsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chaeto, nitrates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.