Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-29-2003, 08:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 68
Change to reef setup

At the moment running set with undergravel filter and a skimmer but want to change to reef setup. This means getting rid of undergavel filter. I only have one tank. Can I change this setup gradully, syphoning off and then use r/o water to topup......removing live sand a bit at a time then take out the filter. Don't want to have to cycle tank again. It's a 30 gallon tank and about the same in live rock. And can this be done with my fish still in tank or is this idea a no no.
__________________

__________________
Jim D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 08:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 68
Rock as in LBS
__________________

__________________
Jim D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 08:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 68
I just took one look at shop tank and I thought this is for me.....
__________________
Jim D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 08:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 68
Any idea's can be emailed to jamesdoc1@ntlworld.com..........Cheers
__________________
Jim D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 10:13 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 869
Send a message via ICQ to jackdp
If the undergravel filter plate is pretty well hidden from view, you could just turn it off, remove the lift tubes and let the plate under the substrate. You would have an air pocket under the sand and wouldn't benefit from the denitrifying bacteria that grow in a deep sand bed but I don't have a DSB in my 20 gallon and my nitrates are always zero. That's just one solution.
__________________
Brad C.
jackdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2003, 07:16 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 68
thanks for the idea jackdp. I was hoping to keep most of my sand bed although I don't fancy any air pockets where future problems may occur.
__________________

__________________
Jim D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, reef, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to reef setup titoav15 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 10-08-2009 01:08 AM
Mini reef water change? tooldini Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 09-05-2005 12:45 AM
Is this setup OK to do a reef tank? IfoundNemo Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 11-16-2004 07:08 PM
45gl to 90gl gallon reef change captain639 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 07-30-2003 12:45 PM
New reef tank setup Sneaker Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 06-30-2003 01:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.