Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-05-2003, 06:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So. Cali
Posts: 3
changing my sump

i currently have a wet/dry with bio balls on a 60 gal with LR and LS and a few snails and crabs. i set it up about a month ago not knowing that bio balls are not recommended for a reef tank. i want to take out the bio ball tower and use just the sump and put LR and LS in it. any suggestions on how to do this without causing the amonia to rise? any help is greatly appriciated.
__________________

__________________
gsbassist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 06:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: wis
Posts: 1,433
Send a message via MSN to alrmc4
if it was me i would put the lr and ls in and leave the balls in the water for a while slowly remove a few at a time over a extended time frame..jmo on what could work..maybe there are some other good ideas and someone else can jump in and offer you some more thoughts...
__________________

__________________
-------------------------------
lor
like pictures? visit
http://www.shutterbugs-gallery.com/forum/portal.php
alrmc4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 11:05 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
alrmc4 pretty much has it... add the LS and LR and give it a week or two to settle, then remove the bio-balls over time, in 3 or 4 batches, and you should be able to avoid any major upset in system balance. Just make sure the LR you put in the sump is already cured. adding uncured rock to any system is bad
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 12:52 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So. Cali
Posts: 3
thanks a lot guys thats what i figured would be best but wasn't sure if there was a better way of doing it i appreciate the help
__________________
gsbassist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump lower11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-10-2007 03:35 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
changing water without changing temperature hashbaz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-31-2004 10:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.