Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-24-2011, 12:11 AM   #51
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
paulweck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 533
and for more info my tank is at 78.5 degrees and my salinity is between 1.024 and 1.025
__________________

__________________
paulweck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 01:34 AM   #52
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
Your ammonia will always read between 0 and .25 it's really hard to get a 0 reading with the API test kit. Yeah you prob did have a mini cycle. Give the tank like 3 days and u will be ready to go.
__________________

__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 02:28 PM   #53
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
paulweck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 533
is there a better test i should get the will give me a better ammonia reading?
my levels are-
ph = 8.2
ammonia = under .25
nitrite = .00
nitrate = between 10 and 20

are my levels good am i done my cycle

i feel like the cycle has completed i still plan on giving it till friday before i get my clowns in there and a cuc

i got my ro/di unit iin the mail already set it up and have it making my first batch for a pwc i plan on doing tomorrow.

is there any other things i should look out for before i fill it with life should i try and do a few 25% pwc's to get as much ro/di water in there before i go adding livestock ?

TIA
__________________
paulweck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 02:43 PM   #54
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
i would do a large water change first then check the levels to be sure ammonia and nitrite are both 0
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 02:50 PM   #55
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
paulweck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 533
will my api master test show 0 ammonia? tomchong stated the its really hard for the api test to show 0 ammonia

what test kit are u using hacktech?

i just wanna make sure im getting a accurate test result.
__________________
paulweck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 02:51 PM   #56
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
paulweck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 533
will a 15 gallon pwc be big enough for a 46 gallon tank
__________________
paulweck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 02:52 PM   #57
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
yea thats fine try that and see what your levels are afterwards
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 02:53 PM   #58
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulweck View Post
will my api master test show 0 ammonia? tomchong stated the its really hard for the api test to show 0 ammonia

what test kit are u using hacktech?

i just wanna make sure im getting a accurate test result.
I'm using the api test kit and yea mine shows 0 its really light barely even green thats how you know atleast on mine
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 02:56 PM   #59
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
paulweck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 533
ok ill do my water change tonight and let u know what i come up with

thanks for the help hackteck
__________________
paulweck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 03:15 PM   #60
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
I use the API test kit. I know it is reading zero when it is very light light green. There is always going to be ammonia in your tank. But it is so minute that we consider it to be zero. The way I tell is if nitrites are zero and nitrates are spot on... You can primarily guess that your ammonia is going to be zero. Like stated above. Do a pretty good size water change wait 24hours and you are set to go.
__________________

__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changing cc to sand dadime69 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 04-15-2011 12:34 AM
changing to sand... TheNamelessPoet Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 04-04-2011 07:17 PM
Changing sand sidneyfirepm Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-26-2011 01:23 PM
Changing Sand Out mwilliams Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 01-26-2011 10:03 AM
Changing from cc to sand - help? JodiW Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 10-25-2008 06:49 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.