Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-07-2012, 02:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Changing tanks

K. I have a established 30 gallon bow front with a canister filter. I have a 55 gallon that I would like to put everything in and change the crushed coral with the black sand I bought.

How do I do this? Lol
__________________

__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 03:32 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Simple. Get water in the new tank and add the sand. Add a couple additional lbs of rock and check on the parameters incase there is a spike from the die off. Then moving over the rock and checking parameters again. Then livestock and canister.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 07:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
^+1
Just use all new water. Don't keep the old stuff.
__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 11:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaRick
^+1
Just use all new water. Don't keep the old stuff.
Ok cool. Im so excited
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 05:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaRick
^+1
Just use all new water. Don't keep the old stuff.
Ok one more question.

I'm about 3/4 full of water now and waiting on the temperature to measure the same.

Does the canister need to be transferred and then ran for awhile before I add the fish?

Here is a pic

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2328547930.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	108.0 KB
ID:	118529

And the old
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1559711220.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	117.3 KB
ID:	118530  
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 04:05 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank
Simple. Get water in the new tank and add the sand. Add a couple additional lbs of rock and check on the parameters incase there is a spike from the die off. Then moving over the rock and checking parameters again. Then livestock and canister.
Please answer !!! ))
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:44 PM   #7
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
No. just switch the canister over when you are switching the fish over. Give it a good cleaning before hooking it back up.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 09:15 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank
No. just switch the canister over when you are switching the fish over. Give it a good cleaning before hooking it back up.
I just got this. I changed the polishing pad out. I was afraid to mess with the rest due to losing my cycle.

I will rinse it again in two weeks and change the carbon media.

It looks great!!

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1285536658.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	115.8 KB
ID:	118835
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:24 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
GuyeWinfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Openbrain

I just got this. I changed the polishing pad out. I was afraid to mess with the rest due to losing my cycle.

I will rinse it again in two weeks and change the carbon media.

It looks great!!
It does look great! good job!
__________________
GuyeWinfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 10:49 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by guyewinfield

it does look great! :d good job!


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3151266874.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	106.4 KB
ID:	119079



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3623958440.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	143.5 KB
ID:	119080



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-962773469.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	137.5 KB
ID:	119081



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-475932291.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	173.2 KB
ID:	119082



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4071283956.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	127.4 KB
ID:	119083
__________________

__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.