Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-16-2015, 10:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Cheap 15 gallon reef tank

Hi everyone, I was wondering about reef tanks and was thinking of setting up one with the tank that I have because I cans afford a bigger one with the equipment. I was wondering if instead of a filter I just use a power head with a sponge around the intake and the live rock be the bio filter. Would this work? I am still thinking about lighting and might just use some lights that I have lying around, they are pretty powerful so it probably wouldn't be an issue. I am new to saltwater (as you probably noticed) and am wondering if there is a cheap way to go about it. Any advice about saltwater nano reefs in General would be appreciated. I would probably have 3 clownfish, 4 snails and 4 shrimp. No coral for now.

Thanks

Old 12-16-2015, 10:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

With no corals any light should get the job done. Two of the three clowns will pair up and kill the other one. And two clowns might be a little crowded in a 15g

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Old 12-16-2015, 11:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

Ok, so 2 clowns the shrimp and the snails?
Old 12-17-2015, 03:15 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

I'd really suggest a sump if possible.

If not, dedication to some large water changes.

I had only an HOB on my 20g reef and overtime nitrates became a huge issue.

Have a nice RODI machine for water changes and if possible, use a sump system. It's much cleaner and more efficient. There is TONS of cheap DIY sump videos on YouTube all it takes is some handyman work and creativity.

Caleb
Old 12-17-2015, 01:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular