Clean up crew

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CluelessInNY

Aquarium Advice Activist
Sorry I'm jumping into this thread...newbie here. I hear a lot abotu "cleaning crews". What are they and what do they eat? I have a lot of algae I am trying get rid of as I cycle some live rock in my 20 gallon. Should I buy some snails and stuff to get rid of it all? I've no idea what I'm talking about :D

Most clean up crews won't eat cyano bacteria (which I think is what is in your tank). Generally a good clean up crew will eat fish waste, some algaes, dead critters and regular food. Others will "till" your sand bed like nassis, sand sifting stars and conshes, to name a few.

I`m going to break this off and start a new thread Clueless. I`ll title it Clean up crew.

So more questions:
1) do they count toward the bio-load of my tank?
2) how many would I need for my 20 gallon tank?
3) what kind of critters would you recommend for a novice like myself?

1. No
2. You wont need that many at the beginning since there wont be that much waste in the tank.
3. a few dwarf hermits, narsirrus snails, some astrea snails.

You want about 1 snail per gallon, or at least that's the general rule. I prefer not to have any hermit crabs in my tank. They always went after snails for their shells. Mike and others disagree.

I prefer not to have any hermit crabs in my tank. They always went after snails for their shells. Mike and others disagree.

I`m not disagreeing. Any time crabs are involved anything is possible. I dont ever disagree with someone elses experience. I have found in my experience that the dwarf hermits are less likely. But that is JME.:)