Cloudy salt water

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wajp5f

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I just purchased a 75 gallon fish only tank. I added RO water and my salt. It has been 12 hours since the tank was full and still cloudy. The temperature is 77 and the chemicals are all fine: ph 8.2, ammonia/nitrites/nitrates all 0 ppm. I read somewhere that if you add the salt too soon or salt first then water (which is what i did) that calcium precipitates show up. How do i get rid of these? I want to add my sand and purchase live rock to get the cycle going but not sure if i should wait until the water clears up. Thanks so much for any advice/tips! I'm new to these (although i've been doing a lot of research the past two months). Thanks again!!

You need to run as much circulation as possible and it will eventually clear up.
You are sorta doing things in reverse order.
Best way was to add sand ,base rock,mix the salt to water in a container and then add the water to the tank.Then you would add some live rock.
It is alot cheaper to mainly start with base rock and just a couple of pieces of live rock .

You need to run as much circulation as possible and it will eventually clear up.
Best way was to add sand ,base rock,mix the salt to water in a container and then add the water to the tank.Then you would add some live rock.
It is alot cheaper to mainly start with base rock and just a couple of pieces of live rock .

I started my 70 gal yesterday .
I filled the tank , added the salt and then added the live sand which said
Do not rinse on the bag .
24 hrs later the tank is still cloudy but not As bad after running the filter and
Power head all night .
The filter was filled with sand when I cleaned it this morning .
How long does it normally take for the sand to settle and the water to be clear ?