Clown fish in a 8 gallon?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

reefgirl1027

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
i've been cycling without fish for 6 months, have live rock, live sand & r/o wtr. Today i bought a percola clown fish, 3 turbo snails, 3 hermit crabs, 1 feather duster, 1 anemone. My question is, i was told the clown will out grow my tank in 3 yrs., & i should just trade him in then. i really don't want to do that, can i keep my clown in without haveing to do that?

8 gallon tank with an anemone is a recipe for disaster in my opinion. The clown has twice the chance of survival as the anemone. The reason a clown can't be in a tank that small is more about the swimming room than the gallons. clownfish are very jolly and speedy wigglers and there isn't a whole lot of wiggle room in a 8 gallon. Mine darts across my 46gallon in like 2 seconds.

Unfortunately, I agree that the clown probably has a better chance than the anemone in an 8 gallon tank but IME with hosting clowns, they do tend to be much more 'stationary'...which I only point out as an attempt to understand why your LFS wouldn't have advised you differently (other than trying to turn you into a repeat customer anyways).