Clownfish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kopitar

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey guys i have a question

I started a 77 gallon about a month ago with 77 lbs of live rock . Added first fish today a black and white clown (a lil orange around his mouth)

Added him to tank and hes doin great no clue if hes male or female or type of specie..
My plan was to have an orange couple clownfish,, and one black and white solo, so 3 total..
But reading a bit today on the internet alot of ppl say not to do this cause the solo clownfish will eventualy end up dying
Is this true ? Can 3 clownfish (2 orange 1 black) co-exist in 77g ?

Thanks for the answers im a beginner at SW

Even if the 2 oranges clown i put them in as juvenile ?

Is there a better chance of working with 4 total ?

2 black 2 orange ?

If you would have added them all together at the same time at a very young age then it would be doable. Once you have an established pair though they won't take kindly to newcomers.

So if i decide to make a couple with 1 black 1 orange does the orange clown has to be juvenile since the black one was there first ?

When coupling clowns togather its best to have one large and the other very small. This is because they are all born as males and as they get older and mature the most dominant male will become a female and the rest of the males will lay in wait to either breed with her or if she dies to replace her as the breeding female.

Thanks for all the answers

Mrc do you see any problem with coupling a black with a orange ?