Complete Newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kennyf

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,

Please be paitent with me and forgive if this is suppose to be common knowledge.

I have recently got a tank sizes are as follows....

150 cm(length) x 60 cm(wide) x 70cm(High) sorry for the metric, i am in SA and don't know a inch from a yard

currently its a tropical fish tank with only a few small fish in it, i think its fresh water but 25 deg C.

I want to convert it to a salt water tank and don't know where to start my local fish shop had one opinion but the second shop had another so now i thought i would ask someone who isn't in it to get my cash.

I have a 4ft single neon tube (White) a green mat on the bottom and a filter on the back that sucks water up and through a sponge, charcoal then sand.

Basically what i am asking is.....

How do i get started, do i need to prepare the tank, what can i put in the tank, is it a lot of maintance?
I know my daughter wants it to look like the tank in the movie "Finding Nemo" with the clown fish etc.

I want some coral but i promise you i really dont have any clue what i a doing and would love to hear all your advice.

Thanks

Kenny

If my math is right, that's about 155g tank. ?? Someone correct me if that's wrong.
I would just empty the tank and clean it well with warm water. What you put in will depend on what you want to get out of the tank. Do you intend to do fish only? The lights you have is ok for fish only or fish only with live rock but not for corals or anemones. In the beginning the tank will be alot of maintenance. There will be lots of water changes but over time, as the tank stabilizes, that will ease up some.