Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 07-24-2011, 02:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Confused...Little help please!

First of all I would like to say that I am VERY new to this hobby. I was given a 155 gallon tank by a friend that went away in the military a few months ago. The tank has a wet/dry "sump" underneath so that will be used as my filter.
On each side of the rear of the tank are TWO holes (total of 4) drilled. TWO return lines (from the pump, back to the tank) and 2 drain lines (from the tank back to the sump). I have a brand new "Pondmaster Magdrive 1800" (1800gph) pump that I will use to supply water back to the tank (6 ft head at 1150gph) that will be run with a single line connecting to the two returns. Both drains will join in to a single line that will gravity feed back to the sump.
I also have a Sicce 0.5 (180gph) pump that I will run from the sump to the 80w "Emporer Aquatics" UV filter, then back to the sump again.
Not having much experience with aquariums, I have a few questions...

1. My drains on both sides of the aquarium seem to be placed very low (almost on the bottom of the tank). (See the pic attached). They have a small blue hard filter of some sort affixed over the top. I assume water will travel to the overflow, fall to the bottom to be picked up by the drain. Is this appropriate? Or should this pipe be extended higher. When I was given the tank, the sleeve was filled with "bioballs" from top to bottom.
2. The pump that I have is rather large for this aquarium, though it seems. Will the two drains provide the sump with enough water to keep the water level high enough? Or will the pump "out run" the drains?