Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-12-2012, 02:08 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Confused with fishless cycle

S I've been cycling this tank since the end of April Tank wont complete cycle that thread depicts the issues I have had. I started over cycling with a raw shrimp and then straight ammonia. I have been dosing the tank to 4ppm each night and it seems to have started coming down, I can does it to 4ppm now and within 24 hours it goes to .5. So 2 nights ago I dosed it to 2ppm expecting it to be 0 within 24 hours, no dice. It was actually somewhere between 1ppm and .5 ppm, so I didn't dose at all last night, today (approx 16 hours after the last test) it was .5ppm. So I am wondering why the bacteria can convert 3.5ppm ammonia in 24 hours but can't convert 2ppm in 24 hours and so on. I have never done a fishless cycle before, early on in the hobby was fish in and since then I have always cycled with uncurred (fresh) live rock.

It's all the more confusing because there are snails a cleaner shrimp and several hermits all doing swimmingly in the tank and in the last week I have seen an explosion of micro fauna in the tank.

I dosed it back to 4 ppm and I'm going to test again this evening and see how low and quickly the bacteria converts it.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 05:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
Are your nitrite levels dropping to 0 overnight with the dosing ? API are known to give false ammonia readings. If nitrite is hitting 0 I'd take a sample to your LFS for an ammonia measurement. You may be complete already.
__________________

__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 05:32 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I do use API but I verified with aquarium systems test. Nitrite stays at 1ppm while nitrates go up.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 10:09 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
So, as I said, I dosed the tank to 4ppm this afternoon (I tested and verified it was 4ppm ammonia) and just tested it and it is between 1 and 2 ppm. So it has converted about 2.5 ppm ammonia in just a few hours. I'll test again tomorrow afternoon and I expect it to be 0, but if it holds true to form...it will be .5ppm.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 07:30 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Ammonia is .5ppm tonight. I won't dose tonight and see if it goes to 0 by tomorrow, I'm betting it doesn't.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 07:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
bigben2057's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 600
Id stop dosing ammonia your tank is most likely ready and cycled. Its been almost 3 mo. if I read correctly.
__________________
Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.

-Mark Twain
bigben2057 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 07:36 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Yeah, it has. I won't dose and we'll see what happens, hopefully it will be good to go soon.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 03:10 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
What are your trAte levels at by now. excessive nitrates can cause the cycle to stall. But they'd have to be pretty high
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 07:45 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingy
What are your trAte levels at by now. excessive nitrates can cause the cycle to stall. But they'd have to be pretty high
How excessive? They are > 100 exactly how high I am unsure, that's as high as the aquarium systems test goes.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 08:30 AM   #10
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
After 3 months I can't see the cycle not beingdone. Do a water change, check levels, and if all well add a fish.
__________________

Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, fishless, fishless cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.