Considering the plunge into Salt Water!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Adzatious

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey Guys.
My name is Adam, I am a science student from Queensland in Australia.
I have recently purchased a 5 foot, 150 gallon tank and have always wanted (desperately) to keep a reef aquarium. At the moment, however, when I consider everything that I would need for the initial setup... the cost is looking slightly out of reach. :( Especially seeing as I would want to get the best setup I could from the start (instead of wasting time and money upgrading when I realise what I first got wasn't good enough)
At the moment, most of the only prices I can find for equipment are at the local fish stores. Are there any Australians out there who can offer me good advice in relation to purchasing some decent lighting and a chiller unit!?!? I'm thinking that I would probably be able to create my own sump out of an old 3 foot tank...? I would love to stick with fluoro lights that can fit under the hood I currently have... but I honestly don't think that I will be able to get enough lighting under the hood... especially seeing the tank is 2 foot deep. So Metal Hallides are probably the only way to go... is there any way I can set them up so that they still look presentable?

That's all the questions for now. please please pleas give me ANY feedback you can think of... especially you Aussies!
Thanks an absolute million for any help you can offer me.
It may take a while, but I am determined to eventually own a reef aquarium. I just figure the longer it takes, the more I would have learnt before I get it. :)
Thanks again in advance,
Adam