Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-14-2010, 02:09 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
SWnewby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to SWnewby
ok is it something that i should buy right away? or is it not something i need right away?
__________________

__________________
SWnewby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 02:17 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
Buy right away, you would need it to filter your tap water before you mix salt in and fill the tank. Just do a little research on it and it should become clear as day. If you plan on ordering everything online, try Aquacave as they are located in Gurnee. I'm off to bed, night.
__________________

__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 02:18 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
You dont need it right now but you do need ro water. You can buy the water by the gallon. If you stick to water changes you will want a RO/Di unit. It is easier. Cycle tank, with lr, then you can add protein skimmer. You should be good to go.
__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 02:32 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
SWnewby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to SWnewby
ok what about the water conditioner i bought? should i just return that or what
__________________
SWnewby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 08:51 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
If you do bi-weekly or weekly PWC's with RO/DI water, you won't need any conditioners at this time. Read these to get you started: Articles
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 08:51 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
How did your fish get ich? How long was your FW tank setup?
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 05:06 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
SWnewby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to SWnewby
we bought some fish from a lower grade pet store, and didnt quarantine them, which was stupid on my part. the freshwater tank was set up for about a year and a half id say, had absolutely no problems up until recently
__________________
SWnewby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 05:17 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
SWnewby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to SWnewby
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bige View Post
You dont need it right now but you do need ro water. You can buy the water by the gallon. If you stick to water changes you will want a RO/Di unit. It is easier. Cycle tank, with lr, then you can add protein skimmer. You should be good to go.

How long should i cycle the tank until i need the protein skimmer? Is that all i need to cycle the tank is saltwater and live rock?
__________________
SWnewby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 05:20 PM   #19
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
here is a good article on cycling Cycle your salt tank
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 01:55 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin,tx
Posts: 1,699
If your using ro water you dont need to condition it. Add salt and it is good. Get your protein skimmer and when tank is done cycling you can turn it on. Make the water, add the sand (if using sand), and LR. Then follow cycling instructions. Check water parameters. You need a good water test kit.
__________________

__________________
Bige is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, 55 gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a 30 Gallon stand hold a 38/45 gallon tank? tropicalfish General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 12-30-2006 01:06 PM
Questions about 10 gallon refugium thingy for 55 gallon tank bigtard Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 12-27-2005 01:47 AM
Upgrading Tank... 10 Gallon to 12 Gallon Nano Cube Deluxe noone General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-13-2005 03:21 PM
1.5 inches/gallon vs. 1 inch/gallon stocking level dax29 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-15-2005 02:43 AM
30 gallon cube and 46 gallon hex stocking ideas PK Tester Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 12-19-2004 02:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.