Converting to SW

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

arekusu725

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey everyone :)

After doing some reading and a bit of research I think i'm going to set up my first saltwater aquarium. I have a few years of experience with tropical freshwater and planted, and after all that I figured I should be able to handle the maintenance and i'm always up for a new challenge when it comes to my tank. I plan on FOWLR for now but I would eventually like to turn it into a reef tank. I just had a few questions because i'm still gathering my equipment. I have a 29 gallon tank, and i'm carrying over my XP2 canister filter, a 100 watt heater, and a coralife 65w PC fixture.

First off, I was wondering if it would be necessary to have a protein skimmer since I already have my canister filter and my tank isn't very big?

Second, I also plan on buying an ro/di setup, so if yes to the protein skimmer, which should I buy first? Any suggestions on brands for both would be great.

Finally, are inverts strictly limited to reef tanks or do people with fowlr have them too? I used to raise cherry shrimp and although I loved my fish, the inverts definitely had a special place in my tank and really made it feel complete. SW has such a huge selection of them that i'd love to take advantage of!

You can get away with not having a skimmer on a 29g FOWLR tank, but it would be a big help if and when you go to a reef setup. PWC would do the same thing. With a fish only you can get away with not using RO water if the water in your area is fairly good and you can keep your nitrates down to around ~20. By would need it with a reef setup again. Inverts won't stand a chance with a fish only setup either.

First, welcome to AA!