Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-09-2013, 11:35 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Coral question

I was wondering why my fox coral is shivering up? Could it be because i put it in a higher flow area and it dosent like it? Or my cal and alk are low?
__________________

__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 10:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bosnianblood69 View Post
I was wondering why my fox coral is shivering up? Could it be because i put it in a higher flow area and it dosent like it? Or my cal and alk are low?
You would need to give tank size, you flow for example: power heads flow rating. What type of lighting and your parameters and salinity. Pics would help also.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
I moved it to a less flow area and its back to normal so it was to much flow
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
So this is what my coral looks like and i did a test on everything today so here are the numbers
Alk-12
Cal-700
Phosphate-0
Nitrate-0
Nitrite-0
Ph-8.2
Ammonia-0
So why would my coral be shivering up?

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3144194765.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	38.8 KB
ID:	167041
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 11:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Something pissed it off. Give it a little time and don't keep moving it around. Give it time to settle in. If it still looks the same after a week or two then move it.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 11:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
How come my phosphates are 0 and i have hair algae
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 11:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Have you tested your silicate levels? Are you using RO/DI water? You can still have algae with a 0 reading of phopahtes. I'm not an expert but something about nitrates and phopahtes being "locked" up and causing the issue.

Don't quote me on it. I thought I read that somewhere.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 11:43 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
How do i check silicate levels and yes i use ro/di
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 11:52 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Found what I read. Hope it helps

How Can I Have Algae With No Phosphates or Nitrates? - Reef Central Online Community
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 11:58 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Calcium at 700 is that bad?
__________________

__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
coral

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.