Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-30-2005, 05:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
*Corals Should I add Calcium or other elements??*

55 Gal. Wet/Dry filter, 260watt Compact Lighting, 50lbs. live rock, 4in deep sand bed live sand with crushed coral and fine live sand. I have feather duster, bubble anemone, frog toadstool anemone, sun polyps, few other types of polyps. Maxima Clam, clown fish, firefish, heater, protein skimmer, powerheads, moonlights. My corals are doing fine I was just curious if there was anything out there that I should use to help them grow or thrive with color? I feed them liquid Plankton, frozen brine shrimp, plankton. Someone told me to start the 2 stage of calcium and I think it was magnesium? Not dosing but just to add to the tank to help it grow etc. Thanks
__________________

__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 05:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweet Home ALABAMA
Posts: 338
I use Kent Marine Reef Starter Kit. It contains liquid calcium, strontium, molybdenum,and iodine which provide bio-available calcium for healthier,more beautiful corals. Corals will open more, and attached to their skeletons better.
__________________

__________________
75 gal SW
55 gal FW
IfoundNemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 07:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
oyf709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 645
about the liquid calcium, plz watch out donnot over dose it.More doesn't mean better all the time.It could lower the Alk.Try use some Alk buffer sometimes if you donno change water often.Usually Kent Marine's salt will do a good job on putting trace element back to the water.=)just my 2 cents
__________________
We Provide LED Solution For Your Aquarium..
Click the Signature for more information.
http://i706.photobucket.com/albums/w...09/aqled-1.gif
oyf709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 07:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
The dosing is the scary thing I get concerned about i don't want to do anything with dosing. I mean where certain levels besides Nitrates, Rites, PH, Salt, need to be checked like too high of a calcium, Iodine? Is it possible to have high levels? Thanks
__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 07:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
oyf709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 645
You could have too high calcium lvl which on the other hand will make Alk to be too low.Iodine can also be too much if you over dose it.So basicly try to follow the instruction and for a better resault , you should ask your LFS if you really not sure how much you should dose,they usually will help you on that.
__________________
We Provide LED Solution For Your Aquarium..
Click the Signature for more information.
http://i706.photobucket.com/albums/w...09/aqled-1.gif
oyf709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 07:48 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
Basically if you follow the directions you shouldn't need to worry about overdosing? Is there a test kit to check for too high calcium/Iodine? If so what would you do to correct it?
__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 11:02 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Saint Helena Island, SC
Posts: 36
The best thing to do is not dose anything that you haven't tested for. With a light calcium demand you may be able to maintain your calcium level with regular water changes alone. The biggest calcium demand you have is the clam and with the lighting you have I don't think he will be growing very rapidly. Try to get some test kits and check before adding anything to your tank, some things like iodine can be toxic at too high of levels. HTH, Skip
__________________
skipm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 12:06 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
Dosing seems like a scary process. I just want to give whatever it is to keep my corals healthy. I see Kent has a product out called Coral excel and another about Trace elements. I have seen the Reef starter kit. From what you said about the calcium and iodine it gets scary. How can it be overdosed it I follow the directions? What if I do less then the intended dose? Thanks
__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 11:35 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
I have purchased Coral Accel and Essential Elements from Kent. What do you think about this? 55 Gal. Wet/Dry filter, 260watt Compact Lighting, 50lbs. live rock, 4in deep sand bed live sand with crushed coral and fine live sand. I have feather duster, bubble anemone, frog toadstool anemone, sun polyps, few other types of polyps. Maxima Clam, clown fish, firefish. When I tested my water last week they were pristine conditions. I didn't add anything new since last week and the Nitrates/Nitrites are high I did a 50% water change. What else can I do to control it? I thought The clam was supposed to filter the Nitrates.
__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 12:23 AM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
How long has your tank been cycled? I assume with the inhabitants you have, it must be pretty mature?

Clams are not the easiest to keep healthy and some clams are high light corals. I agree with the above statement about not dosing what you can't test for. Buy a Ca and Alk test kit. You do have some high demand Ca corals and depending on the salt you use, you might need to dose.
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calcium, coral, corals

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snail erosion : How to add calcium? swanandmokashi Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 04-25-2006 08:59 PM
do i really need to add calcium? drdre Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 01-21-2006 01:16 PM
need to add trace elements to homemade salt water? JamesR Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 1 01-31-2005 12:01 AM
Why would I need to add calcium? rdefino Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 12-03-2004 12:37 AM
best way to add calcium kalk or calcium reactor? pomme Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 12-02-2003 09:26 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.