correct way of doing water changes.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ericosuave

Aquarium Advice Regular
what is the correct way to do a water change? I have never done one before and i need some help. thanks! :)

You should be using only R/O water. It is best to let it sit for at least 3 days before adding to your tank. You should also have a power head & heater in the water to ensure complete salt mixture and that the temp going in is exactly the same as going out. Thats pretty much it... Everyone does this a little different... The key is never add anything you cant test for this includes water..

I get RO water from a store machine, take home, put freshwater in a bucket with a powerhead and heater. Add my salt mix, fire up the PH and heater and let the salt mix for about 24 hours with the PH aerating feature hooked up. Test the water's specific gravity to be sure it is close to that of the tank water. Siphon out the tank water and pour in the new saltwater. I slowly pour in the new water using a cup. The first few times with a new salt mix I test for pH, alkalinity, nitrate, calcium and phosphate just to be sure those levels are within acceptable ranges but once I've used the salt for awhile I only test specific gravity. Its a good idea to do a full bout of test every time you get new salt just to be sure nothing is wonky with it. :)