Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-28-2007, 10:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Curing Rocks

I am a complete newbie to salt water tanks and I've had some issues already with the local store. They are delvering my tank on Friday. That's the good news. They were suppose to be also bringining the water, live sand and cured fiji rock. Now they are saying that they are bringing rock that isn't cured. I've got a couple of books that give me directions of curing the rock in the primary tank as you start the cycle ... comments?

Old 11-28-2007, 10:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!!!
The addition of uncured LR in a brand new tank is not really a bad thing. When adding it to a new tank, it can help with the cycling process. However, I hope they did not charge you for the price of cured LR when they gave you uncured LR. We have some great info on "fishhless cycling" in the ARTICLES section on the top of the page.

Old 11-29-2007, 08:17 AM   #3

Well yeah they did. I paid for everything up front. But they are delivering and settling it up for free. But after reading about the process I'm not too thrilled with the prospect especially with the tank being next to my wife's seat at the dinner table.

Thanks for the welcome.

So in general what is the difference in price of live rock and cured live rock?
Old 11-29-2007, 10:52 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

$2 to$3 per pound is the difference where I live.
Old 11-29-2007, 11:21 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64