Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-30-2014, 09:03 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
What type of substrate do you have and what do you feed/how often.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 10:27 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
Flow? Maintenance schedule/routine? And have you tested the tds of your ro? You have excess nutrients from somewhere.
Edit: params?

????????
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 11:55 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bosnianblood69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 469
Sand bed, i feed once every 3 days with mysis, had it checked sad all perameters are perf, phos was .04 and calc was over 500 thats it, would there be any chance that its coming from my fuge? Cause my fuges light is old havent replaced it and the fuge looks really nasty


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Bosnianblood69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 03:28 PM   #14
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bosnianblood69 View Post
Sand bed, i feed once every 3 days with mysis, had it checked sad all perameters are perf, phos was .04 and calc was over 500 thats it, would there be any chance that its coming from my fuge? Cause my fuges light is old havent replaced it and the fuge looks really nasty


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Cyano comes from one thing, poor water quality. Though you are testing 0 nitrates and phosphates, the cyano is consuming it. I have a patch in my tank and test out at 0 as well.
Try cutting back on the amount of food you are feeding as well, only enough for the fish to eat in a short amount of time. I'm cutting cubes of mysis in half to help with my water quality.
Have you tried adjusting the flow or adding another powerhead to aid with the issue?
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cyano

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cyano..cyano..cyano..!@#$$!!! PiscesLou Saltwater Reef Aquaria 18 12-24-2004 01:19 PM
Cyano in new tank SaltwaterAussie Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 08-26-2003 08:25 PM
cyano fishtender Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 15 08-02-2003 12:50 PM
NO Cyano anymore pipermurphy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 07-16-2003 08:47 PM
Cyano et al Hara Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 01-20-2003 11:49 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.