Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-17-2006, 11:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 196
Cyano and algae problems?

I have a 55gal tank with a mag 7 for my return, I have mostly the Cyano in the back of tank and brownish algae on one side of my tank.

Phosphate 0
Nitrate 20ppm I know thats high trying my darnest to get this down Im thinking i need more live rock.

I do weekly water changes 15gal, Do i need more flow maybe? I have my return pointed to the center of the glass should i possibly redirect flow?
__________________

__________________
drillsar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 11:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Have you checked the PO4 level in your new SW?
__________________

__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 196
MY PO4 is 0
__________________
drillsar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:12 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Just wanted to clarify. 0 is new water and not from tank. I had a problem about a month ago. PO4 was 0 in tank even after WC but new water was .25. The cyano/algae was removing the po4 so it tested 0. New RO/DI filters corrected the problem.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:21 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 196
I have put in a phosphate reactor 3 days ago My phosphates where high now 0, I will look into that though..
__________________
drillsar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, cyano

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cyano algae kj06al Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 2 07-21-2009 02:33 PM
cyano problems help podman1973 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 21 11-09-2008 11:45 PM
Cyano problems continue... Brad Saltwater Reef Aquaria 31 06-29-2005 11:02 PM
E.M. Tablets for cyano algae problems??? IfoundNemo Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 05-25-2005 01:04 AM
More Algae or Cyano Questions An t-iasg Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 04-20-2004 10:34 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.