cyano red slime outbreak.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

marie74

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm new to SW. Bought a used tank off CL. It had a little bit of red on the rocks, but I had no idea what it was. Within a couple days of setting it up at home I have LOTS of red....

How do I get rid of it?

Also- the tank came with a Niger trigger- which doesn;t fit in with my idea of a peaceful tank, so I traded it for a lawnmower blenny at the LFS. He doesn't seem too happy. he was eating the red stuff... would that make him sick?

I'm new to SW. Bought a used tank off CL. It had a little bit of red on the rocks, but I had no idea what it was. Within a couple days of setting it up at home I have LOTS of red....

How do I get rid of it?

Also- the tank came with a Niger trigger- which doesn;t fit in with my idea of a peaceful tank, so I traded it for a lawnmower blenny at the LFS. He doesn't seem too happy. he was eating the red stuff... would that make him sick?

Well the red stuff is Cyano bacteria, It's caused by excess nutrients and phosphates. You can siphon it off the sand with some airline tubing. Increase your flow with power heads, Cyano hates high flow. Cut back on feedings. As far as making your lawnmower blenny sick I can't say for sure. Some fish, snails and hermit crabs love it.

I haven't been overfeeding.. so either the live rock and sane that came with the tank was loaded, or I have really lousy water. I have not invested in a RO/DI yet.. I used tap treated with Seachem prime and reef crystals
I have the api saltwater test kit..
ammonia, nitrates, and trites look fine.

Last edited:
I haven't been overfeeding.. so either the live rock and sane that came with the tank was loaded, or I have really lousy water. I have not invested in a RO/DI yet.. I used tap treated with Seachem prime and reef crystals