Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-18-2013, 10:57 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 92
cyano red slime outbreak.

I'm new to SW. Bought a used tank off CL. It had a little bit of red on the rocks, but I had no idea what it was. Within a couple days of setting it up at home I have LOTS of red....

How do I get rid of it?

Also- the tank came with a Niger trigger- which doesn;t fit in with my idea of a peaceful tank, so I traded it for a lawnmower blenny at the LFS. He doesn't seem too happy. he was eating the red stuff... would that make him sick?
__________________

__________________
marie74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 11:00 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
apet66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by marie74 View Post
I'm new to SW. Bought a used tank off CL. It had a little bit of red on the rocks, but I had no idea what it was. Within a couple days of setting it up at home I have LOTS of red....

How do I get rid of it?

Also- the tank came with a Niger trigger- which doesn;t fit in with my idea of a peaceful tank, so I traded it for a lawnmower blenny at the LFS. He doesn't seem too happy. he was eating the red stuff... would that make him sick?
Well the red stuff is Cyano bacteria, It's caused by excess nutrients and phosphates. You can siphon it off the sand with some airline tubing. Increase your flow with power heads, Cyano hates high flow. Cut back on feedings. As far as making your lawnmower blenny sick I can't say for sure. Some fish, snails and hermit crabs love it.
__________________

__________________
apet66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 11:08 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
apet66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,164
What test kits do you have? What water are you using?
__________________
apet66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 11:14 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 92
I haven't been overfeeding.. so either the live rock and sane that came with the tank was loaded, or I have really lousy water. I have not invested in a RO/DI yet.. I used tap treated with Seachem prime and reef crystals
I have the api saltwater test kit..
ammonia, nitrates, and trites look fine.
__________________
marie74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 11:22 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
apet66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by marie74 View Post
I haven't been overfeeding.. so either the live rock and sane that came with the tank was loaded, or I have really lousy water. I have not invested in a RO/DI yet.. I used tap treated with Seachem prime and reef crystals
I have the api saltwater test kit..
ammonia, nitrates, and trites look fine.
http://www.seachem.com/support/forum...hp/t-1890.html
Prime will not remove phosphates. I would check your local fish store to see if they sell ro/di water, most do. Until you can get a ro/di unit of your own.
__________________
apet66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 11:48 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 92
does RO/DI remove phosphates?
__________________
marie74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 11:55 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
apet66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by marie74 View Post
does RO/DI remove phosphates?
http://www.reefcentral.com/index.php/rodi-faq

It sure will. Hope this link sheds some light on it for you.
__________________
apet66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:35 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 92
Just ordered an RO/DI. Hopefully that will take care of it.
__________________
marie74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:48 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
apet66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by marie74 View Post
Just ordered an RO/DI. Hopefully that will take care of it.
Awesome!!! That will definitely help, in the meantime you can siphon it off the sand and rocks with airline tubing.
__________________
apet66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 04:12 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Bray84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 513
To much light cus course it aswell, I'm goin throught an out break and can't find out what's coursing it but think I was over feeding as started out feeding 3 times aday as guy in lfs said to and didn't defrost the frozen b4 putting it in so now have new t5 tubes on 8 hrs aday instead of 11 hrs and only feeding 2 times aday but only pinch of flake or pellet once and frozen once aday and now defrosting b4 putting in tank and now it's not as bad but still there but next thing goin to try is more w/c in wk instead of 10-20% once a week. All my tests are good but have read that the algae hinds nitrate so could have false reading there so and more info would be great help
__________________

__________________
Bray84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cyano, outbreak, red, red slime, slime

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.