Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-27-2011, 10:04 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 366
I had cured rock. I placed three raw shrimp in my 120g since I did not want to add livestock and subject them to any sort of spike and really wanted to make sure I was on the right track. After I started that I placed my first fish in QT and waited it out.

I know waiting is brutal but done properly the wait will be worth it.

Steve
__________________

__________________
sdergar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 10:07 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 29
so, The shrimp should start the cycle? If it doesn't create the spike im looking for, what should i do. Add some fish?
__________________

__________________
starles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 10:09 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
you have to wait for it to decompose some. i'm sure you will see a spike. if you do not, i would add one fish at a time. research the fish you are considering and put the more aggressive in last.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 10:11 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 29
k, thanks guys
__________________
starles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 10:12 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 366
Because I had mostly cured LR, some stuff would die, the ammonia spike really wasn't all that high. I waited until the shrimp was completely disintegrated and then started to add CUC and eventually the fish I had in QT. Test every day or every other day. You'll see a rise in each of the ammonia, nitrite and last nitrate. Then comes an algae bloom.

Steve
__________________
sdergar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 07:25 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 29
ok, so the shrimp was in there for 3 days before i removed it, the test results from that time was about the same as above. I then let cycle for 20hrs, and put a small damsel and four small hermit crabs in, to continue the cycle. now 24hrs hrs later i tested again, and the readings are showing 0 for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate. also when i put the first and crabs in yesterday i over feed a little. not sure if the levels being at 0 is a good thing at this point? I think because i had the tank running with 15 lbs of LR and 50lbs of live sand, that it had already begun the cycle before i added the additional 25 lbs of LR. Thats why it didnt spike as much as i thought? does that make sense? any advise on whats next and how to know if there is enough bacteria in there?
__________________
starles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 08:19 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 366
I would wait longer than you have. You want the cycle to FULLY complete before you subject the livestock to "crappy" conditions. My raw shrimp was in there for three weeks. I then gave it another week and a few days before the first of the CUC went in.
__________________
sdergar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 08:21 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
did i miss what size tank this was? so you have 40 pounds of live rock. if this tank is somewhat large, you might not be able to see a spike as easily as ...say, 40 pounds of live rock in a 40 gallon tank.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 09:28 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 29
its a 55g tank
__________________
starles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 09:30 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 29
If i went to fast, will the CUC still finish the cycle? What would you suggest to correct the situation?
__________________

__________________
starles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No cycle? 1337 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 04-06-2006 10:34 PM
Cycle (In Progress) ? and Clean Up Crew ? (Post Cycle) SuperWade2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-23-2006 05:58 PM
Cycle-- How do YOU Cycle your tank? DragonFish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 01-02-2006 12:02 AM
What did your cycle look like? Phyl Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 11-10-2004 05:36 PM
To cycle or not to cycle.... (2-gallon tank) fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-17-2004 01:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.