Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-26-2011, 09:48 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 29
Cool Cycle

Hello, I had just put water and 15lb LR in my tank on Sunday, and added another 25lbs Tuesday night. I am running all power heads & filters. Is that correct? The guy at the store said i would have a milky film in my tank for a day or so, but did not? All the milky stuff is in my filters, i have been shaking the filters to poor the milky stuff back into the tank in hopes this is what the tank needs to begin cycling? Should i have the filters running? Also how long should it cycle before putting in some cleaners like snails & shrimps? Thank guys
__________________

__________________
starles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:12 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 366
Give us a few more details on your tank. How big? What filters? Lighting? Sump/Refugium? etc. The best way to cycle is to get one or two raw shrimp from the grocery store and put them in your tank.

Here is a great article on cycling : Cycle your salt tank

Steve
__________________

__________________
sdergar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:25 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
if your live rock has enough die off on it your tank will cycle without a secondary ammonia source. i've never seen a "milky film" before (except when i add new sand) so i don't know what to tell you about that.
you should not add any livestock until your ammonia and nitrite test kits read zero ammonia and nitrite. this can take a few weeks to a month or more, depending on how much of an ammonia source you have.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:29 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
roydooms's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X
if your live rock has enough die off on it your tank will cycle without a secondary ammonia source. i've never seen a "milky film" before (except when i add new sand) so i don't know what to tell you about that.
you should not add any livestock until your ammonia and nitrite test kits read zero ammonia and nitrite. this can take a few weeks to a month or more, depending on how much of an ammonia source you have.
Depending on how much ammonia you have? Is it the more ammonia the faster the tank will cycle? Or the other way around?
__________________
Comprehensive List of Plant Profiles
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...es-153985.html
roydooms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:31 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
the more dead stuff that's on the rock, the larger the spike you will see and the longer it will take for it to decompose. longer decomposition would mean more ammonia and it will take longer to process it to nitrite-nitrate....
now the flip side of the coin would be that if you didn't add enough ammonia, the bacteria colony that would be your end result might not be as large as you need it.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:35 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
roydooms's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X
the more dead stuff that's on the rock, the larger the spike you will see and the longer it will take for it to decompose. longer decomposition would mean more ammonia and it will take longer to process it to nitrite-nitrate....
now the flip side of the coin would be that if you didn't add enough ammonia, the bacteria colony that would be your end result might not be as large as you need it.
I see.

Not to derail the thread but is it the same thing with FW?
__________________
Comprehensive List of Plant Profiles
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...es-153985.html
roydooms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:37 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 29
Add ammonia? do i need to by some starter kits to kick start or will the LR be enough?
__________________
starles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:43 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
I'd say the lr will be enuf if it gets to 3.0 or higher. You can always just add a raw shrimp now to ensure you make it. Remove it when it gets that high.

Have you tested for ammonia yet? If not, need to do so ASAP,
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 11:46 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
If you add shrimp, use a mesh bag so it's easier to get it back out.
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 01:22 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by roydooms View Post
I see.

Not to derail the thread but is it the same thing with FW?
You need ammonia to start a cycle with fresh or salt... but with FW you don't have the LR to start the cycle so you need to start it with something else... like ammonia or a shrimp.
__________________

__________________
Sometimes life is best left to it's own devices.
If your not happy at what you're looking at, you're looking at it the wrong way.
My 320g tank build in progress watch at ---> http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f71/320g-build-journey-experiment-128784.html
Greenmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No cycle? 1337 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 04-06-2006 10:34 PM
Cycle (In Progress) ? and Clean Up Crew ? (Post Cycle) SuperWade2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-23-2006 05:58 PM
Cycle-- How do YOU Cycle your tank? DragonFish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 01-02-2006 12:02 AM
What did your cycle look like? Phyl Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 11-10-2004 05:36 PM
To cycle or not to cycle.... (2-gallon tank) fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-17-2004 01:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.