Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-03-2014, 07:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 288
Cycle question

I started a post a few days back asking about using the Gulf to help with my cycling

However when I unloaded the sumps I noticed that there was an easy 5 gallons of media in one of the sumps, it had been out of water for a few days but was still damp.

I mixed up 10 gallons of water with 2 lbs of sea salt and poured in the 3compartment sump. Tomorrow I'll run a pump in one end compartment with a return in the 3rd compartment and flow water across the media.

Am I headed a good direction to keep this media alive or am wasting time?
__________________

__________________
MeCasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 07:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Chefjpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 103
http://www.reefkeeping.com/joomla/in...icles-by-topic

Here are my favorite reads. Ive read all the subject articles a few times before I started again this time.


🐚
__________________

__________________
🐌
Chefjpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 12:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 288
Very good links and I am an avid reader. However I've got bacteria that are diminishing as we speak so I came to this forum for the short version.

That said, I've done everything I could to save this media. I've filled the sump with the proper salt water, I've cycled the media using an extra Fluval 405 I had, I added and airstone and I've made an initial ammonia chloride feeding (I'll keep on feeding daily).

If this mediai stays alive, I'll immediately set up a large container to start cycling my rock using this media as a base.



__________________
MeCasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, question

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ahhhhhhhhh!!!!! im either experiencing a mini cycle or my cycle restarted!!! allaboutfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 05-11-2011 06:15 PM
Can i cycle without a fishless cycle JoeDaniels Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 29 05-05-2011 03:36 PM
Cycle (In Progress) ? and Clean Up Crew ? (Post Cycle) SuperWade2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-23-2006 05:58 PM
Cycle-- How do YOU Cycle your tank? DragonFish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 01-02-2006 12:02 AM
To cycle or not to cycle.... (2-gallon tank) fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-17-2004 01:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.