Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-21-2006, 09:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 11
Cycle question

Hi there. I recently purchased an 80 gallon tank to upgrade from my current 30 gallon tank. The 30 gallon is pretty well-established (up and running for well over a year now), with 40 lbs of live rock and 30 lbs. of aragonite-based sand. The bio-load is pretty small, just one oscellaris clown, a cleaner shrimp, and a handful of little hermit crabs and snails for cleanup. My plan after getting everything setup in the 80 gallon is to move just my existing livestock over to the larger tank (no new additions right away). My question is, would I still need to cycle my 80 gallon tank if I migrate all of the live rock and substrate from the currently established 30 gallon tank? Or would bringing over the bacteria from the 30 gallon's live rock and substrate be enough to manage my small bioload? I know I will need more live rock for the big tank, and plan on getting it once everything is set up, but I was wondering if I could skip the cycle in the larger tank by bringing everything over from my existing one. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Jobu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 10:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jersey
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to tcarola154
in my experience, yes this would be fine. I switched a clown and a damsel out of a 10 gallon into a 45 without a problem... ( used the 12 lbs lr i had and another 15 precured from the lfs)
__________________

__________________
Beware the clapping monkey...
tcarola154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 11:59 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 640
I'll be doing the same from a 55 to a 120. I here from this board that the concern is churning up your sand during the process. This will release.....ugly stuff and induce another mini-cycle.

Comments?
__________________
55 gallon
dual 175 MH w/ dual 32W PC Actinics
75# LR
runway1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 01:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 11
Hm, I suppose a way around that would be to lay down new substrate in the big tank, and then only bring over a few cupfuls of your old sand to seed it. That way you won't be breaking down the entire bed, and the new substrate will eventually seed via the cupfuls from the old tank plus the bacteria on the live rock that you drug over.

This is just a theory tho, since I've never actually done it myself. Anyone see any problems/issues with this?
__________________
Jobu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 01:03 AM   #5
drm
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Francisco Area
Posts: 53
I just switched over my 30 gal to 100 gal. I did lay down new substrate, used a small amount of old substrate to seed it. Transferred all of my old live rock, corals, etc. Then I used my old tank with remaining sand to cycle my new live rock before putting it into the new tank. All went very well. I did this within the past 6 weeks and have tons of pods, lots of evidence of good life. I am just now adding the new live rock to the tank.
In a different situation previously, I did do a transfer where I stirred up all of the sand, which created an ammonia bump, but only to 0.5, no nitrites or nitrates due to well-established tank.
Just my experience.
__________________
drm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 04:06 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Vacaville, California
Posts: 1,355
I moved a 15G into a 55G by relocating all of the sand, live rock, etc. I did not get a new cycle right away, but that happened after I added some new rock that was not live rock. The mini-cycle started because I added too much dead rock at once (according to my lfs). However, it wasn't bad, just some diatom algae for awhile that cleared up on it's own. Now it's fine.

It's best, imo, to seed your new tank with the old sand, or at least with some of the old sand, rather than start a whole new tank cycle. As I stated, I didn't have a problem with moving over all of the sand.
__________________
Sharon
sdellin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 08:24 PM   #7
JG
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 727
I went from a 30 gal to a 90 gal - moved old rock over but had new substrate. Used old substrate and water to cure new live rock.

I had a mini - cycle but nothing dreadful.
__________________
You know you are a true fish-o-holic if you can field strip any powerhead on the market.
JG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 10:23 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Orlando
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to robertfah
Quote:
I'll be doing the same from a 55 to a 120. I here from this board that the concern is churning up your sand during the process. This will release.....ugly stuff and induce another mini-cycle.

Comments?
IMO, it's prob. best to let the tank cycle. The tank upgrade is a slight increase in gallon size, but as other people have posted, you main concern is stirring up the old sandbed and throwing things out of wack. If your 30g has been setup for sometime now, just setup your 80g and place some of the LR in there along with more LS and aragonite and let it cycle while the fish are still in their old home. This way you can avoid stressing out the fish incase the levels spike.
__________________

__________________
90g Reef
robertfah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new cycle question benjamn Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 02-07-2009 08:08 AM
Cycle Question ken_wied Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 02-24-2007 02:22 PM
Yet another CYCLE question scalesojustice Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 10-13-2006 03:31 PM
I have a cycle question u2_Crazy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 12-21-2005 10:35 PM
Cycle question clownfish Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 12-10-2002 12:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.