Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-16-2011, 11:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Elitehunter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 186
Cycled?

How do I know when my tank is cycled?
__________________

__________________
Elitehunter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 11:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 751
When you add a source of ammonia and within hours all of the ammonia is gone and you have nitrates, nitrites. Don't add anything to the tank until nitrites and ammonia are zero and nitrates are under 20 ppm.

If after you add ammonia all of it is converted to nitrates, do water changes to get it under 20 and then you should be good to add a fish.
__________________

__________________
Display tank - 24g nano w/ softies/montipora

I run electrical appliances underwater and enjoy injecting things with Kalk filled syringes.
Sarcothelia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 02:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 589
The source of amonia being something like fish food and such. DO NOT ADD pure ammonia like is done in a fishless cycling of freshwater.

What do you have in the tank? Live rock? Live sand?
__________________
tlkng1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 03:07 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
We have an excellent article on SW cycling in our articles section.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 03:27 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Elitehunter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 186
I have six crabs and three damsels in the 60 g tank oh and one snail. I also got conned into buy a small coral because it was attatched to one of the live rocks I bought. Probably have 40+ pounds of live rock and 24+ pounds live sand.

So far I have all levels perfect with nitrates holding around 10ppm. Im also starting to see some alge popping up on the glass- expexted because the tank gets a lot of natural light in additon to the artificial light.

So far so good?
__________________
Elitehunter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 04:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlkng1 View Post
The source of amonia being something like fish food and such. DO NOT ADD pure ammonia like is done in a fishless cycling of freshwater.
You can fishless cycle with pure ammonia in SW too. People do it frequently.
__________________
jenatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 06:31 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenatron View Post
You can fishless cycle with pure ammonia in SW too. People do it frequently.
Yes, but not when the tank is inhabited. Besides, with live rock, it provides its own ammonia source..no reason to add more.
__________________
tlkng1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 07:16 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dawsonville, Ga
Posts: 1,285
Send a message via AIM to Flake
Then it wouldn't be a fishless cycle eh?
__________________
Flake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:34 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kurtyboh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 1,413
Send a message via MSN to kurtyboh Send a message via Skype™ to kurtyboh
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlkng1

Yes, but not when the tank is inhabited. Besides, with live rock, it provides its own ammonia source..no reason to add more.
Only if yoy have enough lr for it, there is nothing wrong with dosing in a sw tank; as long as it's a fishless cycle. Also you can't dose a fw tank if it's not fishless...
__________________
kurtyboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 11:47 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Elitehunter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 186
Well all my parameters are perfect except for nitrates which is around 30ppm. I am reluctant to do a PWC because of the parameters being so close. I know 20ppm or less is preferred but according to my lfs they say their tanks hold around 80.
__________________

__________________
Elitehunter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, led

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I think Im almost cycled!! Chriznat20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 01-30-2010 05:07 PM
Cycled MCluett Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 08-15-2008 04:29 PM
is it really cycled ? Derdy88 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 17 08-14-2008 11:44 AM
Am I cycled? Majik Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 10-11-2007 02:22 AM
am i cycled? manda Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 03-08-2006 10:56 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.