Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-17-2003, 12:40 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to loganizzi
cycled tank now showing ammonia

My tank had been cycled and then I noticed that my ammonia levels had risen to .50 ppm. I added a bunch of LR to help improve filtration but have not seen a change. Ammonia levels still read .50 ppm. I have lots of coraline algae on the rocks and only 2 damsels currently in the 45 gal. tank.

Originally I had 45 lbs or rock and now its more like 90 - 100lbs. The new rock that I placed in the tank was cured and purchased locally so I assume any die off was minimal. The newer rock has a good amount of algae growing on it and is pretty much indistinguishible from the older rock. That last bunch of LR was added about 1 month ago.

Anyone have any ideas of what could be my ammonia source and why that much rock is not effectively lowering the ammonia levels?

I feed a small amount of food every other day. I have decent sized clean up crew consisting of a star fish, red/blue leg hermits, peppermint shrimp and astrea snails.

All other quality measures are reading zero (Nitrite and Nitrate).

Thanks
__________________

__________________
loganizzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2003, 01:30 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
When did you put the "new" live rock in the tank? Yes, your die off may be minimal but even a little will rise the amonia level, did you notice an amonia level before you put the "new" live rock in? Did you cycle the "new" live rock before putting it into your 45gal tank? visit this site when buying and introducing new live rock to your tank: http://www.liveaquaria.com/general/g...ral_pagesid=59

This site will tell you how to re-cure live rock before entering it into your tank. Even though it is now too late it will still be a good future reference. I recommend just letting your tank cycle through again and addapt to the live rock you have just put in give it another week or two. If ammonia dosent then drop go to the LFS and purchase AMMO Lock. that will rid of the toxic ammonia but your ammonia will still show on a test kit. Hope i helped GOOD LUCK!
__________________

__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2003, 03:07 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Double check your kit for expiration dates, have it verified by the LFS. What do you add to the tank? Any water conditioners like amquel?
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2003, 10:27 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to loganizzi
Live rock was added one month ago. So it has been a while. I have not had my test results confirmed. Sounds like a good idea, I'll do that this week. I don't add anything to the water, just do a 20% waterchange once a month. I use RO/DI water from machines in the grocery store since my tap has phosphates.
__________________
loganizzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2003, 04:39 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to loganizzi
I've confirmed that the test results are accurate for the ammonia levels.

Could a dead snail somewhere in my tank be causing this? I would assume that anything dead would be eaten fairly quickly be all the red and blue leg hermits running around.
__________________
loganizzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, cycle, cycled, led, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding ammonia to a cycled tank when fish are not present An t-iasg Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-15-2007 10:54 AM
Pictures showing, not showing. fish_4_all Forum Admin & Announcements 10 07-19-2006 07:28 PM
Algae showing up in new planted tank -- Any Advice? wdcolo Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 09-09-2005 04:05 PM
How come my tank description is not showing? gilraen Forum Admin & Announcements 6 06-15-2005 01:23 PM
oh great... AMMONIA SPIKE-- NOT a freshly cycled tank!!! mgkaelen Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 04-28-2004 06:48 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.