Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-12-2009, 05:13 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamHorton View Post
It didn't E-mail me like it usually does when the replies came... weird...

Anyways, thanks for the advice. I'll use shrimps to make sure there's an ammonia source. My RO/DI has been on for two days straight now and the tank is still only half full, 75 gal/day my foot

When there's enough water for the plumbing to work I'll start it up and add some shrimps. I should have pictures of the new setup at that point... maybe tomorrow or Wednesday?
What is your house standing water pressure? I believe you need at least 60# or more pressure for the 75g a day output.
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 10:54 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AdamHorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 575
No sure, probably not 60 pounds. It should be done by the end of the week though.
__________________

__________________
-Adam Horton-
AdamHorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 06:18 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AdamHorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 575
How often should I continue to add raw shrimp? They are 31-40/pound size. I started the tank with 4 on Sunday, and saw a slight ammonia reading on Tuesday (I don't expect to see anything significant for a week or so.
__________________
-Adam Horton-
AdamHorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 03:55 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
4 should be enough. Just set back and test the water every other day or so for Ammonia, nitrite, don't worry about PH as this will be bouncing around until your tank settles in.
Your ammonia will go to 0, then your nitrite will rise and fall to 0, then you should see some nitrates. When nitrites stay at 0 for a few days you are go to go. Add your CUC, wait a week and add a fish. You should be QT'ing your first fish a week from now.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 10:46 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AdamHorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 575
I've had the 5 surviving damsels in my QT for a while now. That tank is pretty much done cycling, since I guess on my first try the DT never cycled. I figured I'd add them in once the DT is done cycling. I guess now is about the time to post that thread where I figure out what I'm going to stock with...
__________________
-Adam Horton-
AdamHorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 12:58 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AdamHorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 575
It's been two weeks since I added the first of the raw shrimp and I still haven't seen any ammonia reading. I added more yesterday. Is it possible that I need to seed the tank with something to start bacteria growing since I did everything I could to kill off what was there? Or will you just tell me to keep being patient?
__________________
-Adam Horton-
AdamHorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 03:30 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamHorton View Post
It's been two weeks since I added the first of the raw shrimp and I still haven't seen any ammonia reading. I added more yesterday. Is it possible that I need to seed the tank with something to start bacteria growing since I did everything I could to kill off what was there? Or will you just tell me to keep being patient?
Addam, If your tank parameters reads 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites and some nitrates your tank is cycled. I would think twice about adding Any Damsels other then clowns to your tank.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 08:52 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: FUNWORLD
Posts: 224
i added 30 lbs of liverock to my 55 and it cycled itself in a week...i think its a matter of shot in the wind in my opinion...its all possible but i was successful with adding no chemicals...although my livercok came out of a tank that was set up for about 4 years tons of coraline no aptasia had snails and starfish coming out so thats a possibilty as to why...
__________________
dhemp34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:48 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AdamHorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 575
dhemp, I had a similar thing happen when I bought "pre-cycled" live rock and cured it myself. I saw the whole cycle in about 8 days.

I took measurements last night and I still have zero everything: ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate. The shrimp I put in the tank haven't even begun to rot or decompose or anything. It almost seems like there's no bacteria in the tank at all, but shouldn't there still be ammonia from the shrimp even without bacteria? What could cause this kind of thing, and what can I do about it?

This may not mean anything, but here's how I set up the tank this time: I had previously rinsed all of my LR in freshwater: this includes my 75 lbs of sand from the previous tank, the 100lbs LR I had from my previous tank, along with the 150 lbs I bought new (CaribSea Reef Rock). Since it took so long to add the RO/DI water to the tank, I put in the "dead" rock and sand in the tank as it was filling up, and I didn't add in any salt until the tank was basically full, meaning that the rock was soaking in RO/DI water for about a week before it suddenly turned into saltwater. The next day I added 4 shrimps, and two weeks after that (this past weekend) I added in 4 more shrimps. My goal was to make sure I killed anything that was on my LR, but could I really have made it so that the cycle doesn't start? I would think I'd see at least *some* ammonia reading by this point...
__________________

__________________
-Adam Horton-
AdamHorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, live, live rock, rock, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live Rock and cycling your tank Drewbie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 01-15-2009 03:17 PM
Tank cycling with live rock question unda_da_sea Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 10-11-2006 03:50 PM
Live rock/curing/cycling question DreamerTheresa Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 09-27-2006 02:15 PM
Cycling with live rock question? SCFatz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 07-10-2006 03:24 PM
Cycling with live rock question Brenden Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 06-04-2005 06:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.