Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 09-10-2006, 02:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fredericksburg Virginia
Posts: 112
cycling and adding fish

My nitrites and ammonia are zero. My nitrates are staying at 20. I know once everything is zero, I can add fish. I don't want to add fish until we get back from vacation which will be end of sept. Should I be adding something to tank now so when I add the fish there won't be another cycle?

scrmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 06:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 295
IMO, 3 weeks or more is a loong time to have no ammonia produced in the tank. Bacteria levels clime or decline based on the load. Your load may be near zero.

I'd guess that you will have to cycle again unless you have a constent ammonia source while you're away.

46 gal FOWLR
11lb Live Rock - 40lb Live Sand
ProClear Pro 75 - LR rubble & skimmer in sump
AC 300 HOB
AC 402 Powerhead - AC 301 Powerhead
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 06:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
i have the same problem...

i just got ready cycling my tank, however i dont have enough money to buy the lighting for the tank. So i decided to leave the fish for my next pay, which is approximately in 3 and a half weeks.

do you think the fish fill survive without a light source except indirect sunlight?

if not, then i'll just have to cycle again....
mar_att1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 06:55 PM   #4
Community Admin
melosu58's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 37,890
You wont have to cycle again just add a few flakes to your water and they will produce enough ammonia to keep your cycle going. IME I did this when I first started nine years ago and I did not add fish for the first 3 months.
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote


Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding Plants While Cycling beauxarts Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 11-13-2009 06:11 PM
adding fish to the cycling tank? kaz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 06-18-2006 08:10 PM
adding liverock after cycling hackteck Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 15 02-07-2006 05:40 PM
Adding Snails during Cycling fishrfreinds Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 12-29-2005 04:30 PM
Not Cycling Before Adding Fish GouramiFanatic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 35 04-04-2005 11:20 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.