Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-21-2009, 04:48 PM   #1
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Cycling my tank

Alright well i know all about the shrimp in the water thing for cycling, but could i use LR to cycle my tank instead? Or would it be better to get the live rock and then do the shrimp thing. Not really sure about this.
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 05:08 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
You can go the LR route. Add a pinch of fish food and test for ammonia after a few days. If you don't see ammonia or nitrItes, you should be good to go.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 07:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
I did both shrimp & LR, and it took about 3 weeks to complete the cycle.
__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 08:30 PM   #4
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Depends on your LR IMO. If you get fully cured LR, I'd say no, you can't use it as the source for the cycle. If you get uncured, then yes it will work. I don't think fully cured LR (even though you get a little bit of dieoff) will be enough to cycle your tank sufficiently.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 09:52 PM   #5
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Thanks for the info guys. Appreciate your opinions much.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 01:16 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilanh View Post
Depends on your LR IMO. If you get fully cured LR, I'd say no, you can't use it as the source for the cycle. If you get uncured, then yes it will work. I don't think fully cured LR (even though you get a little bit of dieoff) will be enough to cycle your tank sufficiently.
If your LR is truely cured you will never see a cycle. I didn't the tank is cycled if your rock is cured.
__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 09:24 PM   #7
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Also, one more thing to ask. What kind of fish food should i throw in the tank when they LR is cycling the tank?
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 02:28 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
You don't need to feed the tank
__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 03:27 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
If providing an ammonia source, then just about any type of food like flakes, pellets, etc... should work.
__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 03:32 AM   #10
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
If im throwing uncured LR in there, then would i need to provide an ammonia source? I heard that uncured LR will start to cure, and then things die, and provide the ammonia source that the tank needs to cycle. This correct?
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycling my tank joe&rae Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-28-2009 01:11 AM
Cycling new tank! help please! virus Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 07-08-2005 02:09 AM
Tank Cycling boo_boo_1980 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 03-10-2005 02:21 PM
cycling a new tank with established tank methods? Mazdaman Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 02-17-2005 06:32 PM
New Tank Cycling andyhill99 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 10-21-2003 02:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.