Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-10-2006, 02:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mesa Arizona
Posts: 191
Send a message via ICQ to Dominick Send a message via MSN to Dominick
Cycling not sure about something

Ok im in the middle of my fishless cycle i had about 3ppm of
ammonia now im about down to 1ppm and the nitrite shot up
now when the ammonia hits 0ppm the nitrite will most likely be up there
should i keep introducing ammonia in small amounts letting it keep hitting 0ppm until my nitrite also hits 0ppm?

thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
Dominick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 02:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Yes. Half the dosage amount. Ammonia is still needed to feed the bacteria.
__________________

__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 03:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mesa Arizona
Posts: 191
Send a message via ICQ to Dominick Send a message via MSN to Dominick
ok thanks i thought i did but wasent real sure
__________________
Dominick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 06:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 224
One thing to watch out for though is that if the nitrite starts climbing too high and not nitrate is not forming yet, you may want to do some water changes to bring it down.
__________________
cplawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 06:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
Yes, now that nitrite is up, only dose 1-2ppm ammonia when it reaches 0ppm.
__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 09:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Or even 0.5 to 1 ppm per day now that ammonia zeroes. No real problem with the higher doses, but it will result in higher nitrite, and so a longer nitrite phase. Your call.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 03:12 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mesa Arizona
Posts: 191
Send a message via ICQ to Dominick Send a message via MSN to Dominick
Well as long as i did the test right i am showing nitrates allready
whats the danger limit for nitrates?
__________________
Dominick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 08:52 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Assuming that your tap water is negative for nitrates, that is a good sign! Did you test the tank or tap for nitrates at the start? When ammonia is zero, nitrite is zero, and nitrates have definitely increased, you are done. Nitrate is less toxic, and most people will keep them under 40 ppm with water changes. How far below 40 ppm is up to what kind of fish you keep, and how much water changing you want to do.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 03:34 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mesa Arizona
Posts: 191
Send a message via ICQ to Dominick Send a message via MSN to Dominick
well ammonia is down to .50ppm and nitrite is up there inbetween 2.0ppm
and 5.0ppm is there anything i can do to help thes little guys
convert the nitrite a little faster?
__________________
Dominick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 03:39 PM   #10
src
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 476
Seeded media from an established tank or Bio-Spira. The only way to speed up the process is to increase the amount of bacteria in the tank/filter. The only way to add bacteria is with time (as they multiply) or by adding more from an external source.
__________________

__________________
src is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycling? shanklyred Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 22 01-29-2009 06:50 PM
Cycling?? FishLover14 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 12-05-2004 10:55 AM
do water changes delay cycling? will it make cycling LONGER? Bubble_Boy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-09-2004 01:17 PM
Confused About Cycling--Am I re-cycling? Why? hummingbird114 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 08-13-2004 06:09 PM
More about cycling.... ClamKnuckle Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 05-19-2004 04:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.