Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-12-2006, 05:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Cycling QT tank

Newbie dumb question here...

OK... so this is kind of "Part 2" from my phosphates from my decaying shrimp post.

I'm setting up a 46g bowfront, and am cycling my 10g quarantine since it's going to be in action for a while as I slowly stock my 46g. From my previous post, it's obvious I had waaaaay too much dead shrimp in there - I put one whole one in for a 10 gallon. Before I realized I had too much, I thought I had too little, and threw in another 1/2 a shrimp for good measure.

During all that, the only biological filtration I had was a Penguin BioWheel 100. Ammonia after a couple weeks was at least 6.0ppm, maybe higher. So... after 3 weeks, I'd managed to spike my ammonia up to 6+ppm with only a biowheel, and with no detectable nitrites or nitrates.

Upon realizing from comments here that too much ammonia would not allow the beneficial bacteria to grow and that a lone biowheel was a little on the small side, I removed all dead shrimp and bought a 3-4 lb chunk of "live" base rock. (It was as dead as a doornail, though. At least it will give a "home" for the bacteria.) I then did a 50% water change, and then another 20% the next day.

So now I'm nearing my 4th week since I threw my shrimp in to rot, and I'm back down to an ammonia level of 1.5-2.0ppm (from the water changes) with a biowheel and a chunk of live rock, and STILL no perceptable levels of nitrite or nitrates.

Question: Since my ammonia levels were so high, am I basically starting my cycle time over from the time I finally lowered my ammonia levels? It seems strange that I haven't detected any increase in nitrites yet.

EDIT:Nevermind... answered my own question! (Why is it - you struggle with question yourself for a while, but the minute you ask it out loud the answer is obvious?!!)

I tested the QT water tonight and that darn light blue tint from the Nitrite kit finally turned purple! Woohoo!! Nitrites are now perceptable at 0.25ppm and the Nitrates are heading up, somewhere around 10ppm.

Looks like it's finally started. Cool.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 08:20 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Go 'head with your bad self!!!

Have fun.

BTW, what's going on with substrate at this point? Got some in there yet?
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 10:50 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,341
Here is a thought, do not cycle the QT tank at all. Find an established tank and put your filtration on it for a week or two. I keep a small HOB with sponge running on my sump all the time. That way when it is time to setup my QT I just transfer some water and move the established filter over.

If you do not have an established tank to work with that may be a problem. Not sure about everyone else, but I do not keep a QT running all the time. I have a 10g and 20g on stand by that can be operational in about 60-90 minutes if needed.

Also in my QT I go bare bottom with maybe a couple pieces of PVC(for hiding). This way if you ever need to medicate it is more effective.

HTH,
__________________
Aaron

Tank: 90 Gal SW Reef in the making

See my info for setup and inhabitant details:
afilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 12:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
afilter: I left out some details about the QT that I mentioned in a previous post of mine. The short story is that I'm currently setting up my 46g bowfront (pictures, lessons learned to come shortly) right now - picking up live rock from airport on Saturday - and wanted to get a head start on getting the QT going. I figured I could be quarantining the first resident while the main tank is cycling knocking off a few weeks of the main tank sitting empty. Since I'm stocking a new tank I was going to keep the QT running for the next few months as I slowly stocked the main. That's the main reason I'm cycling it at all. After I'm done stocking, I'll break it down. I've got a HOB biowheel on the main tank that I can switch over to the QT and have it ready to go on a moments notice after it gets put out of commission.

austinsdad/afilter: The QT (10g) bottom is bare, with a 3-4 lb chunk of really really dead live rock (which will only stay in the QT), and a couple PVC fittings in there. Planning on keeping it bare in the off chance I have to medicate during QT.

I'm getting psyched now that the live rock is coming. Ordered 65 lbs of cured Kaelini and 15 lbs of cured Marshall for airport to airport delivery on Saturday. Main tank is filled and settling down. I'm getting a handle on where the temps want to be. We had a 1.5hr power outage last night (stupid power company) so I got to test in "real life conditions" my Xantrex PowerSource battery backup for the heaters and powerheads. Worked just fine. (While not a long LONG term power source, for my smallish tank I'm thinking this will keep me running maybe 4-6 hours or so, depending on the heater load.)

More later,
Kurt
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 02:10 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
bottom is bare, with a 3-4 lb chunk of really really dead live rock (which will only stay in the QT), and a couple PVC fittings in there. Planning on keeping it bare in the off chance I have to medicate during QT.
I would take out the rock. Depending on what meds you use in there may leech into the rock and possibly have a bad reaction with other types of meds....Plus some of those meds will possibly kill the beneficial bacteria/critters on the LR and maybe foul your tank. I would just keep the PVC in there.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 02:19 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Oh yeah. I was thinking main tank. Forgot to look at the thread title.

I'd leave the rock in there for now until you had to treat with meds.
__________________
austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 03:31 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64
I would take out the rock. Depending on what meds you use in there may leech into the rock and possibly have a bad reaction with other types of meds....
Didn't think of the reaction aspect of different meds. Thanks!

If in the event I need to use meds (not planning on it though!) I had planned on taking out the rock anyway. But for now, since it's just a "stocking quarantine", I figured I'd make it a little more like home for the critters. Plus, as mentioned previously by someone else on another thread, I figured it'd give me a better start for the cycle with the biowheel.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, qt tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cycling my tank joe&rae Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-28-2009 01:11 AM
Cycling new tank! help please! virus Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 07-08-2005 02:09 AM
Tank Cycling boo_boo_1980 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 03-10-2005 02:21 PM
cycling a new tank with established tank methods? Mazdaman Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 02-17-2005 06:32 PM
New Tank Cycling andyhill99 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 10-21-2003 02:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.