Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-10-2007, 04:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 142
Cycling question

I used the fishless cycling technique from the articles. I put 1 and 1/2 pieces of raw shrimp. The large one still isnt dissolved. Here is my question: I checked the ammonia everyday, and after 1 day the level went to .25ppm and the next day was the same but then it dropped to 0 and I checked to see if the nitrite kicked in but both the nitrite and nitrate levels are at 0. Whats going on?
__________________

__________________
hockeydude15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 05:16 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Double check your test results by taking a sample to your LFS. Hopefully your test kit is not bad. Most likely it will go higher than that. If you could put your tank size in your info section that would help. What size is it?
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 06:08 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree, also, what is in the tank, like cured live rock or live sand?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 11:39 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 142
the tank is 38 gallons. I have a deep bed of live sand. Also can I put live rock in an aquarium that isnt cycled?
__________________
hockeydude15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 12:38 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
As others have commented, please fill in your "My Info" section with your specifics, because now we're going to start asking your about what type of filtration you have!

Sooo... if you don't have live rock, what type of filtration are you using? Biowheel? Wet/Dry? Your bacteria that will convert that ammonia to nitrites/nitrates need to live somewhere. They'll take up residence in your sand, but you really need another place for them to call home for efficient processing of the ammonia.

Yes... most folks cycle with live rock. If you don't add it now, you're going to end up with a cycle again anyway unless you get really "live" live rock. Is the "live" sand you're using from another tank that has been up for a while? Or is it the bagged "live" sand?

Not sure where your ammonia went. But if it was processed by bacteria in the live sand, then you should start seeing an increase in nitrates soon, if nothing else.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 01:11 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 142
Yeah the sand is just bagged sand. I only have a skimmer and a powerhead. And im going to look for some lr tomorrow.
__________________
hockeydude15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 04:36 AM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Yes you can cure your LR and cycle your tank at the same time. There might even be enough die off to get your cycle going.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 12:03 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
My guess is that your initial ammonia spike was a false reading. Without any live rock, or biological filtration other than your sand, once those shrimp start decaying, you're going to see a pretty good rise in ammonia before any nitrites show up. I also would get the rock in there now.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cycling question HUKIT Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 01-03-2010 06:39 PM
another cycling question new2betas Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 06-17-2008 05:59 PM
Cycling Question Bucky Katt Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 25 07-10-2006 09:27 PM
Yet another cycling question Mr Crabs Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 09-30-2004 05:48 PM
cycling question snowdude Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 04-30-2004 10:42 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.