Cycling Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jvennitti

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi! I am an aquarium newbie and recently joined because my anonymous information gathering lead me to believe this site was worth joining! I found some good information that may relate to my problem, but wanted to post with my specific details. I belong to some other forums and know some get frustrated when new people post with questions that probably have been covered. So if this has been covered in detail and I missed it in my search, please excuse me and just point me in the right direction.

I started my 45 gal AGA tank at the end of November. My plan now is to just have a FO tank, and possibly move to a FOWLR tank later, knowing there are changes to lighting etc. that I'll need then. I am having trouble with the nitrites going back down and significant brown algae. Right now my ammonia is zero, nitrites around 5.0, and nitrates around 15. Below, I have outlined (as best as I remember) what I have down to this point. My setup looks like this:

45 gal AGA
Regular florescent hood
Fluval 304
Sand substrate
3 Tufta (sp?) rocks