Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-12-2011, 05:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
40galreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 173
Question Cycling tank

I set up a 40 gallon saltwater aquarium Thursday. I put in 30 lbs of sand, 20 lbs of arag-alive, and 50 lbs of live rock. I tested the water yesterday and here are the results.
Ammonia: 0 ppm
Nitrate: 0 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm

Is it possible the tank has fully cycled this quickly? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
40galreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 08:21 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 200
It's more than likely that the cycle hasn't kicked in yet. As far as I'm aware it can take 4-5 days for levels to spike.
__________________

__________________
matthewh133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 08:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
If you would have cycled then you'd most likely have a nitrate reading.

I also think the cycle hasnt kicked in yet. You can jump start it by adding a dead shrimp or pure ammonia to get a boost.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 09:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
jtrasap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern, IL
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by 40galreef View Post
I set up a 40 gallon saltwater aquarium Thursday. I put in 30 lbs of sand, 20 lbs of arag-alive, and 50 lbs of live rock. I tested the water yesterday and here are the results.
Ammonia: 0 ppm
Nitrate: 0 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm

Is it possible the tank has fully cycled this quickly? Thanks!
No...

With saltwater, 'slow and steady wins the race' so to speak. Your tank could take upwards of a month to cycle and I'm sure if you've got zero readings then it hasn't started yet.
__________________
jtrasap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 09:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
40galreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 173
Thanks for the help!
__________________
40galreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle finished?, cycling, cycling tank, new setup, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Done Cycling? cichlid.lover Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 21 08-29-2011 11:01 PM
New tank cycling question. tjmortenson Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-16-2011 05:54 PM
Cycling saltwater tank? zparticle Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-14-2011 01:07 PM
Log for cycling my new tank. zparticle Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 146 07-13-2011 04:34 PM
Ok to take out seed gravel from tank during cycling process? shynepo3 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 06-23-2011 07:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.