Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-06-2019, 04:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Azul17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 177
Cycling used tank?

I bought a Red Sea Reefer 250 used. It was full of green algae and it came with 2 fish. When I brought it home i got rid of all the old water, scrubbed and clean tank bought new live sand and put back same live rock it had before.

Do I need to cycle the tank again since I used all new water?
__________________

__________________
Azul17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 08:51 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,558
If the rock was kept wet then it should be just fine, just keep an eye on the parameters and do water changes with ro/di water if you see any ammonia or nitrite levels.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 09:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Azul17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
If the rock was kept wet then it should be just fine, just keep an eye on the parameters and do water changes with ro/di water if you see any ammonia or nitrite levels.


Rocks were left on buckets full of saltwater and only for a day before putting them back in the tank.

I think Iíll continue to test the water for a week. If I donít see any spikes in ammonia then Iíll start adding fish.
__________________
Azul17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2019, 07:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Azul17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 177
So far these have been my readings. Itís day 5 and I havenít seen any spikes in ammonia. Also my nitrates readings I believe it looks like 5.0 (or what you guys think?)

I have a lot of brown algae on the sand and rocks and the tank glass has green algae.



Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1793.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	254.2 KB
ID:	312583
__________________
Azul17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 02:08 AM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,558
Just keep the lights off. Algae will grow all over in the nutrient rich water that you make while cycling a tank. It can't grow without the light. No reason to make the start harder.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for 48'' T5 HO used or 250 MH used SnowZz Archive 4 08-16-2010 05:24 AM
Cycling a used tank logansmomma1228 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 05-13-2010 08:55 PM
used used used and cycling JPKeenan Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 08-18-2009 01:16 AM
Can't believe the fish bag used in lfs and used for so long! gu2high Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 22 02-08-2007 07:31 AM
can a 'dead' fish be used to cycle a tank? fishless cycling Bubble_Boy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 11-04-2004 02:38 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.