Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-18-2013, 02:08 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
At the end of a cycle, you should have nitrates. Everything can not be zero or something is wrong. The only way nitrates leave your tank after a cycle is by you doing water changes. Ammonia and nitrites convert to trates, so those will be zero.
__________________

__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 02:11 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Willba200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 355
How long would it take to turn to trite /trates
__________________

__________________
Willba200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 02:19 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
A cycle typically takes about a month. Less with live rock/sand, but still a couple weeks I would guess. With a shrimp, you should get ammonia within a day or two and nitrites should follow soon after. Nitrates are the end result and those just don't disappear...they either lower by water changes or things like reactors or macro algae.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 02:25 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Willba200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 355
Tank was cycling for about 3 weeks before prawns were added. With 50lbs of live rock and live sand. I have had to do a couple of water changes (1 last week) just to get salt levels down which is now spot on. Tested water yesterday and all was nil. I hope I have cycled!
__________________
Willba200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 02:50 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Willba200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 355
All in all it was about a 5 week cycle. From shop to tank was about 1 hr. So rock was not out of water for long. After ammonia spike using prawns and then ammonia turning to 0 they were left in for another 4/5 days. All results still showed nil. What do you think?
__________________
Willba200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 04:59 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Willba200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 355
The Todd . You were right!....... Reason I had no nitrate readings were because I was not doing the test wrong! Basically I was not shaking the bottle enough. My readings are about 30ppm! Trouble is I thought I had cycled so I put in the hermit crabs and snails. Will they be ok? Now in process of doing my first salt water mix/ water change. Should I do this once a week or daily to get nitrate down to 0.
__________________
Willba200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 07:12 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
I do changes as needed. Nitrates don't need to be at zero, but you want them low. It is ammonia and nitrites that need to stay zero, which they should as long as it is cycled and you do not increase your bio-load too rapidly.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 07:18 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Willba200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 355
I feel like a right idiot as you and others were saying that I should have nitrate present. Turns out I did and was not shaking the bottle enough:/ will check parameters tomorrow and do another water change as I only done 20% earlier. On the plus side I had to do my first salt mix this evening and got it spot on, so that's another worry off my mind.
__________________
Willba200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 08:37 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
As long as the next tests come out the same, you should be fine. Once a tank is stocked, even partially, you should have some Nitrate present. That is the result of the ammonia turning to nitrite, which changes to nitrate. It might read zero for a day or two, but if ammonia is being added (by waste and or deteriorating food), then nitrates have gotta appear.

Make sure you add fish slowly. With past tanks, I usually went one fish, maybe two small, every three to four weeks. If you add too quickly, the ammonia overwhelms the beneficial bacteria and they can't convert it to nitrite quickly enough. You get ammonia readings that way. Those BB numbers will increase as more ammonia is added, they can only do it so fast though. Slow wins the race.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 09:00 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 11
I too found out I was doing my Nitrate test wrong. Found out I was not shaking bottle #2 enough or at all lol. I performed all my tests correctly yesterday & ammonia is about 0 , nitrite is at 2.0 & nitrates at 40 ppm. It's been 11 days since I started the cycle process.
__________________

__________________
Timeplt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.