Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-05-2004, 05:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 295
cycling/water change

as most of u probably know, im cycling my tank and i have a little garbage in the water and on top of the water...i know that i need to do a 50% water change after my nitrites drop to 0...should i do a water change before then?
__________________

__________________
crage34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 05:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
It will prolong the cycle if you do water changes at this stage.. you could always skim the surface with a cup or something if it's bothering you.
__________________

__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 05:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Athens, TN.
Posts: 3,598
Paper towel works well to remove scum and surface trash
__________________
Gerald

Vote for AquariumAdvice
dralarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 06:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fort Walton Beach FL
Posts: 33
Some people say there is no need to do a water change during cycling, I did water changes during the cycle to try and save as much life as possible in the LR, I have heard this will prolong the cycle a little but thats not really a big deal. The only time I seem to notice junk on top of the water is if the flow is not enough, try and point your power heads up a little to create motion on the waters surface.
__________________
TwtyBrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 06:27 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 295
my ph are pointed towardthe surface now and i have great flow at the top of my water...i think it is just junk from my sand
__________________
30gal / 2: maxijet 600s / 150w heater / CPR Bak Pak2 (maxijet 1200)/FOWLR

30lbs base rock
6lbs Brazilian LR
35lbs sand (20lbs of lfs ls i think it cycled my tank faster)

3 blueleg hermits
4 turbo snails
royal gramma
gold stripped maroon clown
crage34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 07:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
I am not so sure that doing a water change will prolong the cycle. Unless you do a 100% water change, any water you leave in the tank will still contain some ammonia and nitrite. The bacteria count may be a little lower when doing water changes during the cycle than if not since there is less food for them to eat. But I don't think the cycle is extended this way at all...

With all that said, it is up to you if you want to do the change. I did water changes every few days when I cycled my tank. This was so I could keep anything that was alive on my LR when I got it *still* alive when going through the cycling process.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 08:25 PM   #7
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I agree with Biggen. If you have LR, do the water changes. The LR is not just a home for bacteria. If it is a "start from scratch" set up where no life has been introduced, water changes will not benefit anything.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 08:27 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
You guys he only has sand in there right now, remember?
__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 08:38 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Quote:
You guys he only has sand in there right now, remember?

Um, no.

I guess he can file this away for future info then.

If he only has sand, I wouldn't bother with the water change then until both ammonia and nitrite drop to zero.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 09:29 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 215
If nothing in the tank to kill, then don't go thru the expense of a water change.
__________________

__________________
Overstocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, cycling, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water change - sit for a week - cloudy after change satch Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 10-07-2008 06:58 PM
To water change or not to water change. that is the question Andari Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 01-05-2007 05:38 PM
Cycling levels high, do i need to change water? tenny Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 07-25-2005 08:19 AM
When to do water change on a cycling tank? austinsdad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 02-18-2005 12:54 AM
When should I do my 1st water change? And water change ? stew Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 10-11-2003 02:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.