Cycling with raw shrimp

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GATANKGUY706

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I started my cycle 5 days ago with 40lbs of base rock and 5lbs of cured live rock with some purple coralline algae on some of it. 40lbs of live sand and 20lbs of aragonite sand. My ammonia level is 2.0ppm and nitrite level is 0 and nitrate is 20ppm. Why do i have no nitrite spike and confused on when to add the bottle of Bio Spira. I'm using a couple of raw shrimp to cycle. I tested my parameters after my tank was clear after 3 days and there was no nitrites but ammonia and nitrates were present. Could someone let me know what I'm doing wrong. I'm new to saltwater. Thanks!!!!

Cycling

Tank had been cycling 5 days now. With 2 raw shrimp andammo 2.0ppm and nitrite 0 and nitrate 20ppm. Added bio spira. Do i leave the shrimp in.

Yes. You should wait until the ammonia and nitrite registers 0.0 ppm.
You might consider putting the shrimp in a mesh bag or panty hose. Will make retrieval much easier/cleaner.

There's a chance you might not detect nitrite. The spikes someone last for a few hours. I did a freshwater fishless cycle with transferred media and for days I could not detect nitrite. And then I decided to test a few times during the day and was able to detect the spike.
I have heard good things about bio spira. I believe Dr Tims One and Only was derived from bio spira.

Thanks a lot. My nitrites never spiked that i know of. I've been testing since Friday. Shrimp is in a panty hose and i added two more because the first two are about gone. Do you know anything about lights to grow coralline algae.

Thanks a lot. My nitrites never spiked that i know of. I've been testing since Friday. Shrimp is in a panty hose and i added two more because the first two are about gone. Do you know anything about lights to grow coralline algae.