Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-10-2005, 09:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Send a message via AIM to alinaclyn
Cycling within 2 days???

Hello.
I'm new to this message board but yesterday my boyfriend bought me a 40 gal. tank. I had a 20 gal. reef tank for about 3 years but i moved last year and decided to sell everything. Anyway, I'm no expert but yesterday we went back up to our fish store to get the rest of what we needed to set it up. We got 35 lbs of live rock, 2 of the bags of argonite sand and we ended up buying the water from them too. I'm not sure what type of water it is but the owner's son said it would be ready for fish in about 2 days. Does this sound right? The last time I set up a tank it took atleast a month to cycle. What type of water would reduce the cycle time so dramatically? Would RO water do this? Anyway, we also have a protein skimmer, which I didn't have on my old tank. Not sure if I've provided enough info. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

Old 02-10-2005, 10:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Quote:
I'm not sure what type of water it is but the owner's son said it would be ready for fish in about 2 days. Does this sound right?
No.

Quote:
What type of water would reduce the cycle time so dramatically? Would RO water do this?
No.

Test your water and wait it out. Throw in an uncooked shrimp or two and wait it out. Test the water for the Big 3 - ammonia, nitrites, nitrates. Your tank is ready when ammonia and nitrites have returned to zero after spiking (my ammonia was over 8 for several days) and you've done water changes to reduce accumulated nitrates.

Livestock I added: