Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-11-2006, 12:49 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
No one ever posted..so I will bump this one more time.
Thanks
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 01:59 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Have you tested you new water for PO4? I know you say your filters are new but I would check. Its comes from feeding also.
Cyno, low flow in tank and old bulbs when changing spectrum can also help bring it on if there is ANY PO4 in the tank. Trace is enough PO4 for have cyno, the trace is what the cyno is not consuming so there is more the trace in the water.
Are you sure its cyno..

I got it bad in my fowlr right now, I had none for years then I got new/used PC lighting and WHAM Cyno over everything. The bulbs in the light must be older then the person told me is my guess. So I am doing water changes and I'm looking at getting 4 new bubls. My tank also tests 0 for PO4 so even though it says 0 I know theres enough to feed the cyno.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 03:33 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Seaham
I stated previously that I was having issues with cyno and now its just algea. This original posting was from several months ago. So all I am dealing with now is algea.
Again all Im dealing with right now is green algea. Its on about 8-9 pieces of LR in my tank. I take the rocks out, scrub them, and within 3 weeks its right back.
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 04:30 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 477
I feel your pain........

I'm in the exact same situation, only except I have cyano and not the other algae. It grows on the same two or three rocks, despite all my efforts. Every 2 to 3 weeks I scrub it off with a toothbrush. I'm baffled.....
__________________
Dr.Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 11:23 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Yeah so far I have been posting this issue for about 9-10 months now and no one - not even the LFS can solve my problem! Im sitting here looking at more algea on the same rock that I scraped it off of last night. I have done EVERYTHING that has been suggested and still no answer as to why I have algea.
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2006, 01:26 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
boardsurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 823
fishman, you seem to be doing everything right. I should hope that someone else can chime in and help with your seemingly endless algae problem.

Any takers?
__________________
- Mike
125 gal. reef w sump/refugium & 8-bulb 640w T5's
45 gal fresh w/plants + CPF lighting
boardsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2006, 01:34 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Yeah I have gotten a lot of answers to questions in the past here but this one seems to be the one that I cant get solved. Im going to keep testing my water and removing the algea as it grows. Also I posted in another post that I found a new live bacteria that supossidly will clear the algea up. Going to start this today after a 30 gallon water change.
If anyone else has any ideas please chime in.
Thanks
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2006, 08:45 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Have you tested for PO4 and Nitrate? post numbers.. The algae needs a food source.
Never heard of that bacteria stuff.. Hope it works out..
I know guys who have major HA issues and after a long battle the used AZNO3 and it is now gone. Chemicals is a last resort..
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2006, 10:42 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Where do you get the AZNO3?
No trate - never have had any since the tank began - and also less than a trace of P04. I did at one time (6 months or so ago) have P04 of like 3-4...a LOT! Now I have a phosban reactor and also added a second DI filter to my RO DI unit
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2006, 12:44 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishman
I have about 15-20 lbs of rubble rock and macro in my fuge. I also have a sand base in the fuge too below the macro...very thin layer.
My fresh SW comes from my RO unit. I also use the RO unit for top off water too. I use instant ocean salt and have for 3 years now.
I feed nothing but frozen cubes. Its Sallys San Fran brand. I thaw the cubes out and then rinse them 5-6 times in RO water. Like I said I feed very little as I only have 3 fish - 1 med size blue tang, false perc and a damsel. I have corals such as mushrooms, xenia, polyps. Also have inverts. Tank runs well and is very stable and has been for 3 years.
Also I failed to mention I do weekly water changes of about 25-35 gallons. And I run a PO4 reactor.
Have you looked at your feedings?-->Do you feed a whole cube everytime you feed? If so I'd cut way back with only 3 fish. Preferrably you should feed twice a day, and at each feeding you should only feed each fish an amount equivilant to the size of it's eye. Which is really miniscule. One cube should last 4-6 feedings.

Not sure that it might matter in a tank your size, but it can add up over time. GL......
__________________

__________________
Lagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algea

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on my setup, Ferts, and algea. kcsport Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 03-01-2008 12:08 AM
Brown, Hair and possibly Cyno algea SeriousDude5 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 03-02-2005 07:53 AM
algea eater questions Newbneedshelp Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 10-05-2004 12:48 AM
Annoying green algea and brown algea robbber Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 07-20-2004 11:46 AM
Green Algea & Soft Brown Algea overgrowth! elinkuge Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 03-23-2004 12:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.