Dave's 125 Gallon Build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Perrdav

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I've decided to do a slow upgrade to a 125 Gallon reef. So far I have the new tank, canopy, and stand set-up. The tank is a pre-drilled dual overflow style. I have the plumbing pretty much figured out. I have several questions for everyone, but I will start with the a sump question first. My LFS has recommended that I go with 2 sumps, one for each overflow. One sump would be for the refugium and the other for the skimmer. This would require 2 return pumps, which they said would be good in case one failed. They recommended drilling each sump, installing bulkheads and connecting them with spaflex and a union. Has anyone tried this and had success? Seems like a decent idea, but I have no experience with it. Any thoughts?

This is exactly what I did, mainly because I couldn't find one single sump that was big enough for what I wanted to do. I got an Eshopps 30" sump and an Eshopps 30" refugium and tied them together with 2 bulkheads.
I thought it was a great idea, and honestly thought of it myself. :)
My returns run to the middle. Sump with filter sock and skimmer runs to the left, refugium runs to the right, and returns run straight up to the tank. Plenty of room for equipment and future upgrades.
Yesterday during a storm, electricity went on and off for a bit, after this only one pump came back on, but tank still filtered. This was also a reason I wanted 2 pumps. Water level in sump ran higher but doesn't overflow because they are joined.
Mine has been up for 16 months without a hitch, I love the way it came out.