Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-26-2011, 02:01 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
deeps sand bed thoughts and opinions??

I come across many different thoughts and opinions about deep sand beds and wanted to get info on the subject from different people.

There's alot of info on how deep a dsb should be but how much surface area should it cover to really benefit? I haven't really found any info on how much surface area it should cover to really do what its suppose to do. Also who is running dsb in sumps and how much surface area are you guys covering?
__________________

__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 02:05 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
slitherbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 2,191
You're supposed to have it about 4" and above. It's should cover the entire tank floor and it reduces nitrates. The bacteria that live in the deep convert nitrates to nitrogen gas that is released as bubbles to the surface. You NEED. To have critters that stir up the sand to release these bubbles.
__________________

__________________
Lalala
slitherbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 03:28 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
DSBs are in nature they alow bacteria that lives in no oxygen areas that break the nitrates down into one part nitrogeon and 3 parts oxygen. if a DSB is done correctly it can be a great filtration to help keep water conditions great, also will help with the need for waterchanges, although you will have to dose the system if you don't change the water
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 03:43 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
Well I understand what a dsb is used for and the process of it but my question is what size of a dsb would actually benefit the tank?. I guess my question is will putting 5-6 inches of sand in my fuge (15"L x 12"w x 9"h)benefit my 60 gallon tank. Given those dimension of my fuge would that be big enough to make a difference in my tank or would that just be wasting space since its small surface area compared to my display tank.
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 03:49 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
slitherbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 2,191
Yes! Unless the water is going through extremely fast through the fuge (which it shouldn't). If the water is going slowly then it would be good.
__________________
Lalala
slitherbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 03:50 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
no that will not benifit your system to well, you will see little to no gains. a good dsb should be atleast 36"x12" and from 4-8" deep
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 03:58 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
slitherbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 2,191
Well, you should might as well make it a dsb anyways. Most people put a dsb inside their refugiums only.
__________________
Lalala
slitherbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 11:19 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
yeah if their fuge is 70g but to put it in a 15x12" 9 inches deep is just takign away stape that you could put more chaeto and more LR rubble and have better filtration and pod growing space
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 11:27 AM   #9
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
I do not use a DSB in my reef and have undetectable nitrate. With enough live rock you can have enough denitrification, depending on the bioload.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 11:30 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I had a regular sand bed in my 55g with zero trates as well, and I was using a canister filter lol

In my 125 I have about 5" sand bed in the main tank and maybe 4 inches in the refugium area.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand, sand bed

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.